-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

New Places, New Faces

Getting.Sleepy. Let's see. I'm in Birmingham, Alabama right now, and this trip has already been much better than my previous trip to Birmingham. My last trip, I only vaguely remember. Let's just say doing a "day trip" to Birmingham from Kansas City requires entirely too much hustle and bustle for my tastes. Not that today was a long stroll on the beach. I felt lost for most of the day, but it all worked out in the end. The damn Mississippi River kept getting in my way while I was in New Orleans. After the third time crossing it, it was no longer amusing to sing "Dee-ee-eeeep RI-ver" like Clark Griswold.

In the end, I caught my original flight from New Orleans to Birmingham which somewhat restored my faith in a certain airline that treats its passengers somewhat like cattle. The only reason I caught the flight was because it was late, but they did let me on, so that's nice.

Once in Birmingham, I assessed the room service menu which oddly included a Kansas City Strip Steak. My assessment including lots of fake gagging noises and sour sneers. I decided instead of an evening in front of the select 12 cable channels offered by my hotel that I would explore the lovely Five Points district of Birmingham located only a stone throw's away from my evening accomodations.

The gentlemen at the front desk suggested I try a sushi/thai restaurant. At first I sourly sneered at the suggestion thinking "sushi in Birmingham???" but then realized that I am much closer to the ocean than I am in KC, so I shut up and sought out the place.

Good choice. Not only was the food good, but I also had a lovely conversation with a complete stranger which is always nice. I love The Boy because when I called him and told him I'd just spent the last two hours discussing the meaning of life and relationships with a kind man who sat next to me at the bar, he didn't freak out and get all defensive. Granted that I have little reason to fear that this newfound stranger/friend would ever freak out, stalk me or be romantically entangled with me, and I was able to quickly convey all of that to The Boy, but still - it is uber-cool that he didn't leap to the wrong conclusions. Plus it is always nice to meet a kind soul who seemingly desires nothing more than pleasant conversation and a good ear which I can sometimes, but not always be. I probably sound incredibly naive, but believe me when I say I don't just talk to every stranger that sits next to me at a bar. Being alone on the road, you quickly develop the skills necessary to keep unwanted advances away. Anywho, it was a lovely conversation, and I'm all the happier to have been to Birmingham having met this person.

Again, no pictures which means you will all hate me. If I had my camera, I would take a picture of one of the ammenities in my hotel room. It is the air-conditioning/heating window unit with the most obvious button labels I have ever seen. Also photo-worthy was the soda machine which actually had a button for Mello Yello. You know you are in the South when your only choices are Coke, Coke, Diet Coke, Sprite and Mello Yello, oh, and Coke.

In other news, I think I've pinched a nerve right in the crook of my right shoulder blade. Super-suck. It's been all clenched up for almost a week now. I have muscle relaxers for when this happens, however my stomach has decided that they are no longer getting past the velvet rope without a rumble. And tummy rumbling is about as bad as a pinched shoulder nerve. In the end, none of it is as bad as what some people put up with, but it is still bothering me... enough that I'm done chronicaling my day for now. I'm going to go find the ice machine and a dry cleaning bag and see if I can get this nerve to let go by icing it down.

I'm not sure I'll be able to update tomorrow night due to late travel, but I will do my best! Later!

9:07 p.m. - August 18, 2004

|

previous - next











latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

Journals I Read:

Plain-Jane

(not so) Evil Clomid

Colleen's Musings

Allison

Google Groups
Enter your email address to be notified of new entries:
Email:
Visit this group