-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I am Eggroll

Because I travel just enough for work to make it futile to buy fresh groceries, The Boy and I have developed the habit of eating out quite a lot. Last night, we decided to grab some food from Chili's and pick up some movies. We walked into the To Go door, perused the menu, and then placed our order. I paid the woman at the counter, and was about to walk out when she said she needed to write my name down on the order. I told her my name was Jennifer, and then watched her write down "Eggroll."�

This made me crinkle my brow a bit. Eggroll? Why would she write down Eggroll? She must have noticed my crinkled brow for she looked down at the receipt and turned bright red and gushed "Ohmigod I can't believe I just wrote Eggroll. Jennifer, right? I'm so sorry. I can't believe I wrote that. I'm sorry." As we walked to get the movies, The Boy and I laughed so freaking hard I think I blew a blood vessel in my eye. When we got back to the restaurant, The Boy dared me to ask for the order for Eggroll with the caveat that I must keep a straight face. When we walked through the door, the same woman was at the counter, and she immediately blushed. All bets were off. I couldn't do it. I was already smirking just thinking of it.�

I think that just goes to show you can't make up nicknames, you have to earn them.�

Wedding Shit:

This weekend we did actually spend some time on our wedding invitations. Despite both having said we just want cheap and simple, we of course are going way overboard, and now The Boy wants to call in a professional printer with some amazing new technique. We have a perfectly viable Do-It-Yourself options which involves cutting squares of a dark burgandy background paper, then printing the invite on vellum with black text except for our names which will be in a matching burgandy hue, and assembling the two pieces together with nifty little shiny silver square brads. This can all be done for an incredibly reasonable price, surprisingly. However, The Boy has taken a keen interest in the design, so we may go in a different direction. At least we have the wording and one option, so that's a party bonus.

We also attempted to begin registering for wedding gifts over the weekend. Let me just tell you that the whole gift registry is another way of THE MAN raping the gift-buying public. When they printed out the list of crap, they had added on gift cards in every denomonation imaginable. When I told them we didn't want the $250 stand mixer, I had to listen to a whole speech on how much we'd use it, and how it was a necessity in any kitchen and yada, yada, yada. I kindly informed the 17 year old clerk, that I have lived my whole life without a stand mixer and had even won the highest honors in 4H at the state competition level for baking cakes without the assistance of said mixer. She still had the nerve to tell me that I will regret not registering for one. I wonder if that is some sort of veiled threat - like she's going to mess with my registry since I made her take of the gift cards and didn't register for the most expensive item in their store... Hmmmm....

Speaking of nicknames, my cat has many. E-fly, Flee-Li, Mr. Meowgi, Sir Catten III, Mew-li, Captain E and Vicious Killer are just a few. Here you see him in his favorite role of "Fat Ass Lazes on Porch."

1:54 p.m. - July 22, 2004

|

previous - next











latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

Journals I Read:

Plain-Jane

(not so) Evil Clomid

Colleen's Musings

Allison

Google Groups
Enter your email address to be notified of new entries:
Email:
Visit this group