-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Registering for Baby

Let's see... where did I leave off? Oh yeah, vacation. Well as usually happens, I return from a lovely vacation and have way too much work and house stuff to do. Last Saturday, Jane accompanied me to Babies R Us and Target to register for baby paraphenalia. Thank God she was there because those stores are overwhelming when it comes to the amount of shit you can buy for a baby.

Setting up a registry at Target was pretty easy, but at Babies R Us, they have a big desk with chairs in front of it which immediately told me that the administrative side of registering there was going to take longer than I wanted it to. The lady at the desk insisted on flipping each and every page of their little book and reading me things that, um hello, I CAN READ MYSELF! I wanted to tell her that I read and write above the 4th grade level, but alas, I sat someone patiently and gave her my best "I'm being polite because I know you have to do this, but hurry the f*(k up!" look. She kept commenting nervously "well your just ready to go, aren't you! But before you do...."

Jane paced patiently presumably texting people and staring at breast pumps while I got everything in order. She is a saint. From there, it was a whirlwind tour of the aisles of Babies R Us. We pushed all the Johnson County mothers out of the way and quickly registered for a simple list of logical and mostly necessary items. Okay - so my baby won't really care that they have a funky snack ball for Cheerios or that shampoo will be rinsed from its wee head with a pitcher that looks like a stork on meth. Ryan even agreed to a stroller design which I added to the registry even though it is mega expensive and a bit embarassing to appear to be asking someone to buy it for us.

If I haven't mentioned, Ryan is an architect and therefore more concerned and engaged in the overall asthetic of home decor than I perceive most husbands to be. This means that all things related to style and design needed his review. After explaining to him that our only option for buying gender neutral bedding was either sage green or "dots", he agreed on the sheets and blanket I had chosen. He questioned whether we could buy stripes, but I regretted to inform him that most stripes were indeed either based in pink or blue. BASTARDS! He took interest in the whole baby room design thing and went to the Design Public website. If you have a few minutes, check it out. There is really cool stuff there, but it is mega expensive.

Anyhow, the rest of this week, we've spent car shopping, but that's a whole different journal entry.

9:16 a.m. - September 11, 2008

|

previous - next











latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

Journals I Read:

Plain-Jane

(not so) Evil Clomid

Colleen's Musings

Allison

Google Groups
Enter your email address to be notified of new entries:
Email:
Visit this group