-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Bridesmaid dresses

I am absolutely obsessed with bridesmaid dresses. OBSESSED!!! In my defense, I've got an odd situation. One bridesmaid had a baby in late April; another will have a baby in August and another a baby in September. Thank God I have one bridesmaid who is not pregnant and therefore is my voice of reason. The wedding is in November. The bridal industry pisses me off like none other. HATE IT!!! They threaten that if you don't order bridesmaid dresses four to six months prior to the wedding that they can't guarantee delivery. Oh, and there are no returns or exchanges. Evidentially, the child labor negotiator for the bridal industry failed miserable and they pay the small children in San Salvador by the stitch for any dress that may be used in conjunction with a wedding because on top of these restrictions, they want hundreds of dollars for anything that doesn't suck a lot. Dammit!

So I've spent countless hours scouring the web for suitable dresses with appropriate return/exchange policies. Any of you who have ever done this can testify that that was a gigantic waste of time. I've hemmed and hawed over what to do, probably driving everyone insane. Finally, after my dentist appointment, I went to the ritzy fabric store on the plaza. An amazingly helpful woman showed me various fabrics and helped me to pick out a pattern and a satin for the dresses. We talked about dress styles that will flatter new moms and things to think of in case any of them are nursing, and well hell - I just lurve Carol. After that, I went back to the office and the Snow Princess, one of my bridesmaids, called her mother who happens to be a stellar seamstress who has tentatively agreed to make my dresses. YEE HAW!!! THE SEARCH IS OVER, YOU WERE WITH ME ALL THE WHILE!!! So now it is on to obsessing over other things. Let's see - cake, photography - shit! A DJ - we don't have a DJ!!!

2:34 p.m. - June 30, 2004

|

previous - next











latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

Journals I Read:

Plain-Jane

(not so) Evil Clomid

Colleen's Musings

Allison

Google Groups
Enter your email address to be notified of new entries:
Email:
Visit this group