-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Get Out and Vote!

I just got finished running the gauntlet so that I could vote in the Missouri primaries. It would seem that my voting district must be important or something because one of the main Democratic Congressional candidates and one of the leaders of the opposition to a new downtown KC arena were both stationed right outside the door of the voting station. I drove through the circle drive past the multitude of political activists and then parked near the back of the parking lot. This gave me a chance to formulate a plan. We'll call it "Operation: Pretend You are Talking on Your Gigantor Cell Phone." Upon exiting my car, I could see the little activists licking their lips and clearing their throats. I dug in my purse, found my gigantor Treo PDA phone (which I abhor), and flipped it open. The first number on my list is my voicemail...purrrrr-fect.

I faked conversation as I walked up the sidewalk to my place of poll. Despite my chattering away, the Arena Weasel still tried to get in my face to get me to vote against the arena. Other activists tried other techniques to get me to cast my vote in their direction. Some smiled and waved signs at me. Others pointed vehemently at their sign. Still others adopted the Vegas Prono-Flyer slap (and yes, I know I spelled that wrong - stay away google!) None of these techniques were able to thwart Operation: Pretend You are Talking on Your Gigantor Cell Phone, and I made it safely through the doors into a line of poor schmos holding stacks of slaughtered trees. I was quite surprised that in my neighborhood of tree huggers that no one had thought to put one of the big blue recycling bins by the door.

So I've done my civic duty for the day, and I cast my vote. My reward for this is that all of my favorite Tuesday night programs will be interrupted or downsized with up-to-the minute updates on election returns throughout the evening. Greeeeat. Had I been smart, I would've delayed movie watching night until tonight versus last night, but I was in no condition to make such rational decisions due to some evil lower back pain.

When I went to lunch with Taerna yesterday, I suddenly recognized intense pain and strain in my lower back. I hobbled through a couple of lanes of traffic unable to discern what may have caused this onset of old-lady-hipism. I was seriously clutching my left hip and grimicing in pain as I worked my way across the street, into the restaurant and to our table. It occurred to me later in the day that I had fallen that morning while trying to rush the garbage out to the Trashholes. I didn't exactly fall - more like a stumble. And it was the Trashholes fault for showing up early. And I wasn't awake yet. And I barely remembered to put on pants before bolting out the front door, down the steps and to the sidewalk to hand the Trashhole my two bags of trash - no more no less. As I turned to walk back up the stairs, my toe caught the cuff of my sweat pants and I stumbled on the first flight of stairs back up to my house. At the time, my left wrist hurt from catching myself before I did a faceplant into the concrete, but as the day wore on, it turns out I had hurt my back, knee and left hip.

As everyone knows, the only cure for major back pain is lots of drugs, heatpads and the movie Roadhouse. I had picked up this classic film on sale about a week ago, but hadn't the chance to watch it yet. The Boy was elated to see my purchase. Folks, if you haven't watched this fine piece of cinema lately, it is about time you did. So many classic lines in that movie.� I kinda wish that Dalton wouldn't go on the killing rampage at the end of the movie, because it gets a little psychotic, but between the bar fights and the portrayal of women as a bunch of drunk slut idiots, well - I need say no more.

Today, my back is doing a bit better, but I'm still not fully recovered. I've always had a bit of a problem with my back, and experience says it will get worse before it gets better. So that is fun.

This is a picture of Taerna's adorable niece. During the cake cutting, she decided that she would sit next to me on the floor while I took pictures of the family and the toasts and whatnot. So freakin' cute!

12:28 p.m. - August 03, 2004

|

previous - next











latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

Journals I Read:

Plain-Jane

(not so) Evil Clomid

Colleen's Musings

Allison

Google Groups
Enter your email address to be notified of new entries:
Email:
Visit this group