-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

You must achieve a ninth-grade reading level to understand this entry.

I'm freezing - like literally freezing. My temperature right now is 96.2 degrees. I don't feel very good, which is why I took my temperature, and sometimes, my temp is a bit lower than 98.6 - like 98.2 or something - but a full 2.4 degrees low??? What's up with that???

Jane's journal will be at the 18th grade level, but that's because she is a wicked good writer.

I left work last night to join a few old co-workers at one of our old stomping grounds for a drink. Only the only other person that showed up was the former leader of The Greatest Company That Ever Lived (TM). We had a couple of beers and enjoyed observing the locals. We also talked about what we called flatulence as children. Don't ask me how that conversation came up, but it was entertainment.

On my way home, I decided to stop at the local liquor store to refresh the stash of cold beers I keep in the crisper drawer of my fridge. The local liquor store is on a midtown corner next to a bus stop. There are a lot of strange folks with varying levels of mental problems, drug and alcohol addictions and body odor that loiter near this corner. I decided that one can test the authenticity of an inner-city liquor store by the ratio of rotweillers to paying customers. In the case of this particular liquor store, there were three large mean dogs in cars and another big dog lying behind the counter in the store. There were only 3 paying customers, myself included. There were multiple other people in the parking lot, but most were talking to telephone poles or waiting on a bus that will probably never come. Nonetheless, this is one of the finest liquor stores in the city regarding selection and pricing, and I was quite embarrassed to only be buying standard American piss-water, but oh well - sometimes the light stuff is the best thing for a hot summer day.

Speaking of hot summer days, today's forecasted high temperature is 71 degrees. The average high temperature in KC in August is up in the 90's. All of the weather people in the city have been going crazy with this stuff. Normally, they are relegated to telling us all how hot and miserable it is and are left to getting all excited about the hurricanes on the East Coast. This summer, the excitement of tornado season never ended what with all the records we are breaking. If I haven't mentioned it yet, I absolutely hate Gary Sleezak, the channel 41 weather guy. He's something of a shock jock type weather guy who tries to scare you with short 5 second bumpers (that's advertising speak for the crap local news commercials that "bump" right up against the program you are watching.) Here are his favorite scary bumpers:

1) Screen behind him displays a man standing on the roof of his car in fucking Texas where idiots always try to cross raging rivers in their Ford Tauruses "Is it going to rain??? Your forecast at 10:00."

2) Screen behind him displaying a gigantic funnel cloud destroying everything in its path. "Dangerous weather could be in the forecast (quick mumble) just like back in this 1983 tornado in that trailer park outside of Wichita. I'll tell you about what to watch out for tonight at 10:00."

3) Screen behind him displaying a pile of wrecked cars and mangled bodies with a shoe in the foreground on a snowy, ice-crusted interstate. "Will snow and ice cause death and destruction like this for the morning commute? I'll tell you at 10:00."

Inevitably, he'll make big predictions, scare the crap out of everyone, and then nothing will happen. Idiots. All of them. Anyhow, they are busy blaming the Canadians for this recent bout of strange weather, but every map I've seen actually shows the storm system centered squarely over North Dakota, but I guess that isn't as shocking as blaming an international source for our odd weather. But I'm going to say right here and right now that I blame all of those crazy North Dakotans for our really cold summer weather. If you guys send a storm system down on November 6, I will never ever visit your fine state. Punks.

Oh yeah - It's Wedding Shit Wednesday. Let's see, we think we've chosen a photographer, but now they won't call us back. That's about it. We suck. This weekend will be devoted to finishing the photo scanning for the wedding video and creating and printing the invites. I'll let you know how that goes later!

I've been trying to grow my hair out for a long time, and recently, its grown like a weed. I wanted to assess the length and/or quality of my hair so I tried taking a picture. Look at my little angel halo. Hee hee!!

11:23 a.m. - August 11, 2004

|

previous - next











latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

Journals I Read:

Plain-Jane

(not so) Evil Clomid

Colleen's Musings

Allison

Google Groups
Enter your email address to be notified of new entries:
Email:
Visit this group