-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

My Dress is Here!

Stuck in my head is the song, "I Feel Pretty" from Westside Story. Why might a girl sing that song over and over one might ask... "because my wedding dress fits!" she cried enthusiastically!!!! Now I know the first thing you are going to ask for is a picture of me in my dress, but I don't have one yet. Mo took pictures while we were at the dress shop, but they are on her camera which is far, far away from me. So you'll have to be patient - just like I am patient. I hope Mo is reading this and is downloading the pictures and sending them to me now. Now. NOW!!!!

And now I will commence exhaling a huge sigh of relief. Being that I am 5 foot 1 inch and weigh one hundred and booglygook pounds, shopping for wedding dresses was HELL. Big girls and small girls both have it rough. For all the big girls out there complaining, I'm here to tell you it is just as bad to try on a size 14 gown and then order a size 4 Petite. We too have to sign on the dotted line swearing that you will in no way even mention the words "Return Policy" to the shop ever, less you are willing to offer up your first child to a life of picking up straight pins from the gown shop fitting rooms for stale saltine crackers. That's 5 sizes too big and 3 inches too long, people. Oh the stress. I had nightmares that it would have only 6 sparkly beads versus the multitude of beads the sample dress had on it. I thought it would come in and be tan versus "Diamond White." I thought it would crop just above my knee like the slutty bride in the Guns and Roses video for "November Rain."  Oh the horrors!!!

But it didn't. I think it looked quite lovely, and it will need only alterations to hem it up a bit more and prepare the bustle. That should only cost about $200. Oh how I wish I were kidding.

Yesterday, Taerna and I went to lunch with our dear friend, JK. In case you didn't know, Taerna and I are job twins. We've followed each other through three different companies since our fated meeting in early 2000. Well, actually four or five companies if you count the multiple names the second company had over the course of a year. Stupid dotcom bubble burst. JK taught us the ropes at our first shared job and then was the catalyst for bringing us to this, our third shared job. She is going far, far away to far away places (yeah, that's redundant - so?) , and I will miss her dearly. Sigh. I hate goodbyes.

In December of last year, we took a business trip to Corpus Christi together. On that trip, we ate more fried mushrooms and mozzerella sticks than any human should consume in the course of an entire year. After consuming our second batch of mushrooms, we had a genius photographer take this lovely picture:

JK - Wharf. Goooood. And that's all you need to know in life and you will go far. (For those of you on the outside of this inside joke, The Wharf is a restaurant on Mustang Island, and according to one local fisherman, it is "gooooooood".)

5:17 p.m. - August 13, 2004

|

previous - next











latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

Journals I Read:

Plain-Jane

(not so) Evil Clomid

Colleen's Musings

Allison

Google Groups
Enter your email address to be notified of new entries:
Email:
Visit this group