-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Stress much?

Alright. I will try and be a better journal entry person today, and not talk about heroin or heroines or anything confusing like that. I stayed at work until 8:30 pm last night trying to check a few items off of my list so I would calm down just a bit. I reduced my inbox from 83 emails to 36 emails and was quite proud of the accomplishment, even though it wasn't the 10 email inbox of my dreams. I just peeked, and it is already back up to 54 emails. Haaaattte. I thought I was getting all organized last night and was ready to start today refreshed and renewed. And then in the course of the first 2 hours and 17 minutes of the day, I managed to acquire two new projects that I hadn't even seen coming. I guess it's job security.

I have a funny response to stress and the overwhelming crushing feeling of too much to do in too little time. That response is to listen to Garbage's Version 2.0 cd over and over again. I listen to that cd with my giant headphones on during times of stress. If you add in a little bit of pissed-offedness, I will switch to playing one song over and over and over again. That song? Johnny Cash's "Ring of Fire." Taerna knows this response all too well as it was my theme song in my old job. I am right now on the verge of that song.... we'll see if I can ward it off. It's so tempting though - the horns, that voice....soooooothe.

I've been really awful about having my digital camera with me lately, and I don't want to bore you with lame pictures taken years ago, but unfortunately, I've just been sucking it up as far as my personal life goes lately. For instance, I traveled clear across town and almost to Oklahoma this weekend to meet Jane and Holly at a store that stocks a variety of flower girl dresses and didn't even bring my camera to capture and adorable little girl in a pretty little dress with a look of contempt and disgust unsurpassed by any flower-girl-to-be ever. There was no ohhhing and awwwwing - it was more like trying to thread wet spaghetti through the end of a sewing needle. Despite her hatred of the event, Holly did look adorable and will make a lovely angst-ridden flower girl.

I think I mentioned sometime last week that my back was hurting - specifically the nerve directly in the crutch of my right shoulder blade. Oh how it hurts!!! Still!!! I've been taking my muscle relaxers, but they aren't doing much except for to make me sick to my stomach. On top of that, stress is setting in and I totally carry all of my stress in the muscles that connect my neck to my torso. They are so tense and taut I look like a freak weightlifter. Lover-ly.

Okay. Enough of the bitching and moaning. Another stress reduction technique of mine is the writing of haiku's. My most infamous haiku ever was written at my old job. Taerna, you'll remember this one:

Butt ass monkey dung
Fecal matter surrounds me
I hate (3-syllable name of the corporation I worked at here)

If I were to write a haiku today, it would take on a similar tone.

Poll: Is Eli saying:

  1. Gimme some pettin's on the tummy!
  2. I keewl you.
  3. Please, Hammer. Don't hurt 'em!

1:18 p.m. - August 24, 2004

|

previous - next











latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

Journals I Read:

Plain-Jane

(not so) Evil Clomid

Colleen's Musings

Allison

Google Groups
Enter your email address to be notified of new entries:
Email:
Visit this group