-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Stop and smell the flowers

I think my fallopian tube has my left ovary in a choker hold.

In other news, the parents have arrived for Remodel Fest 2004. They will be here for the next ten days ripping apart and reconstructing the second floor of my house, while I sit in a comfy desk chair warming my toes by my space heater. Something about this ain't right. I'd love to be able to take off from work and help them all week long, however, somebody has to make the donuts. That someone is me.

I've been an eBaying fool lately, purchasing wedding shit left and right off of that site. As mentioned yesterday, I was quite pleased with the flower girl dress I purchased from the site. So pleased, that I succumbed to my fears and hit the bid button on a couple of gifts for people which of course I can't tell you what they are here because they may be one or two of my eight readers.

Last night, I went to the grocery store and renewed my love of the urban lifestyle. There is a high population of young black people who work at this grocery store, and I absolutely love their style. It's like a hip hop fashion show sometimes even though they are all required to wear the same green polo shirts. What they do with those shirts, however, is outstanding, and each manages to display their personality despite the fact that they are wearing The Man's shirt.� The confidence of the men who work there is outstanding as well. For instance, a white guy might look at a woman and think to himself, "gee, she's kind of attractive." At the grocery store, however, a young black man will stop collecting the carts, stop talking to his friend, study the woman intently and then provide direct and actionable feedback. At first, this bothered me, and I tried to avoid any type of eye contact, but then I realized it was just a wonderful difference in culture. So last night, when the bag boy said to me and the cart boy "I appreciate your bling", I didn't give him a dirty look (like I might've before) and I didn't stare at the ground (like I might've before) and I didn't respond at all - I just smiled and walked on. "I appreciate your bling" - I'm totally stealing that line.

You know that old saying, stop and smell the roses... I actually do that most every morning. I may not be good at many things, but somehow, I managed to choose the perfect spot to plant rose bushes at my house. Here are some pics. I like the color of the coral ones, but the rosey red ones have the best fragrance in the world!

2:28 p.m. - September 03, 2004

|

previous - next











latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

Journals I Read:

Plain-Jane

(not so) Evil Clomid

Colleen's Musings

Allison

Google Groups
Enter your email address to be notified of new entries:
Email:
Visit this group