-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Scatter-brained

Yaaaawnnn. Taerna yelled at me for not updating. I've been meaning to, really I have. But I just can't seem to get anything done right now. For instance, I just tried to calm myself by listening to Ring of Fire, but even Johnny got interrupted. It just ain't right. Sigh.

Let's see - it's Wedding Shit Wednesday. In the world of weddings, I owe Kiki and Mo an invite list for a bachelorette party and a couples shower. I haven't booked a limo, I don't have a D.J. and I don't have a cake. Oh, and we haven't fully informed everyone of their wedding duties. Oh, and if we are going to send invites out 8 weeks in advance, well that's right around the corner, and we haven't even assembled the invites. I think I'll send an invite to Taerna and Jane to sit around and drink wine and make invites right now... okay, done. They will soon pretend not to know me.

ROCK! In my MP3 files, I have the Dukes of Hazard theme song. It just came on. Things are looking up.

Disjointed much? Where was I? Oh. Last night, I met The Boy at Arby's. You wanna talk about forgetting things, he forgot to book tickets and a hotel room for a meeting in California that is tomorrow at 8:00 am. Oops. Even more scary was the activity that took place later that evening. You see, since I travel a lot for work, he decided he would surprise me with the honeymoon. I won't plan anything and won't even get to know where we're going until we get there (which will take soooo much self-discipline because I'm one of those people that checks the monitors every time I pass one when walking through an airport.) Well last night, I had to walk him through how to book tickets online and how to use rewards numbers and all of that. I guess he might be using a travel agent, so there is a bit of calm to be found there. We'll see. It'll be fun regardless. I can hardly wait for a vacation at this point. Speaking of vacation, Weezer's "Island in the Sun" is playing now. Hip hip.

OHHHH!!! I totally forgot to write about my food experience on Monday night. I'd been trying to convince The Boy to go back to this quirky little Chinese bistro near my house again for months. He'd gone once and didn't like what he ordered, but I had loved my food. Monday night was a beautiful night, so I suggested we walk down to the shops and pick a place to eat. Very urban city-like. So much fun for a girl who grew up in the middle of the wheat fields. We were chit chatting during the whole walk, and got to the corner and hadn't chosen a place to eat. The first place we thought to go was actually closed on Monday nights. He suggested the Vietnamese noodle place which is really good, but I suggested maybe we cross the street to the Chinese place. Under much duress, he agreed.� I ordered the wonton soup and he got some noodle dish with chicken and veggies. The soup was in a gigantic bowl and was quite tasty despite the plethora of fresh cilantro they'd put on top of it post-cooking. Part way through my meal, I saw something bright brick red floating in a bubble of oil. Curious. I inspected it a bit more closely. It was about the size of a sesame seed. Are those antennas? And why does it have 6 legs sticking out the sides??? GROSS!!!

Now I'm not one to stand up and raise hell, but I wasn't about to continue eating that food or anything else they wanted to serve me, and I sure as hell wasn't going to pay for crunchy bug soup. I waited until the waitress came over. She took awhile, and while she dilly-dallied, I found another bug. Super gross. When she finally arrived at the table, I gestured her towards the plate that I'd placed the bugs on and said quietly:

I found these bugs in my soup. Please take it back to the kitchen and remove the charges from my bill.

No racket from me people. She got the "Oh that's f'in nasty" look on her face, offered to bring me anything I wanted from the menu, entree or dessert, and then apologized and hurried the dish away. The receipt showed up and she had done just as I asked. I will never understand why people scream and yell. Two days later, I'm still alive. The bugs didn't KILL me. I didn't feel sick. Granted, I won't be rushing back there, and if I do go back, I sure as hell will insist on NO CILANTRO because I am now convinced that it is the debil.� To serve me right, after my bad experience, The Boy absolutely loved what he ordered and can't wait to go back despite the bugs. Bleh.

The Boys. I think they are mad at me.

3:32 p.m. - September 01, 2004

|

previous - next











latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

Journals I Read:

Plain-Jane

(not so) Evil Clomid

Colleen's Musings

Allison

Google Groups
Enter your email address to be notified of new entries:
Email:
Visit this group