-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

The Incubation of a Bridezilla To Be

Today I will chronicle my attempts to be productive when all I can think about is the fact that my wedding photographer still hasn't returned my calls or emails despite direct and clear communication that I expected a call yesterday. Last night, after many long minutes of venting about the stress caused me by the lack of phone calls from this guy, The Boy and I commenced completion of the Wedding Invitation project. I am pleased to say that I dropped off 102 invitations to be mailed this morning at the post office. I only have about 15 that are still in need of mailing address information (Only two belong to me, the others all belong to The Boy). Woo hoo! Okay, enough dwelling on the positive things, let the chronicle begin:

9:32 AM - I have spent the past 47 minutes reviewing the contract we FINALLY received, printing out pages from their website on the services they say they provide, but have made no attempt to deliver to us, and basically preparing myself to call AGAIN at 10:00 am when their offices open. Now I will attempt to be productive for the next 27 minutes.

Note the pout and the crinkled brow. Stupid signs of stress - and where the hell did my chin disappear to???

10:29 AM

I spent over 20 minutes on the phone with my mom detailing the trials and tribulations of the photographer that wouldn't return my calls. At 10:06 AM, I called and left a message basically saying that they had better call me today. Mmmm hmmm! Dat's right. I then spent the next 22 minutes drafting nasty emails that I summarily deleted so that I didn't send one in a fit of rage. They have our money. I need to remain calm so I can get it back. I will now attempt to work until further news develops...

11:38 AM

The best way to keep one from dwelling on something too long is to occupy oneself. I chose "Reduction in the stacks of crap on my desk" as the way to occupy myself. I've been booking along for the past hour or so, until I had turned around to file something away FOREVER, knocked over a picture frame and said "Shit!" I turn around at the voice of one of my bosses introducing a Sr. Veep from one of our biggest hospitals. Sweeeet!

12:39 PM

The lunch hour is ending. I just tried the photographer's number again. A change in response - rather than going directly to the machine after two rings, the phone is now ringing and ringing and ringing. For 1 minute and 42 seconds to be exact. My guess is that by the end of the day, I'll get a "This number has been disconnected message." Lovely. Back to "Project: Crap Reduction."

2:19 PM

My hands are trembling. The photographer finally called back at 1:42 PM. His excuse was he had been on a business trip for three weeks. However, he's been back for almost three weeks now, so that wasn't flying. He then dove into the specifics - when did we call, when did we email, yada yada yada. That pissed me off. He then circled back to the "what can we do to regain your business." Problem is, the details part made me snap. I didn't want to do business. My confidence in them is shattered. So I went for the jugular and asked for the refund. He of course refused and said the "A" word. He tried to indicate I had received a contract. None of the contracts have been signed. You know the rest of this type of story. He said, she said - blah, blah, blah. Ick.

2:33 PM

After talking to The Boy on the phone I realized I may have overreacted. All that is in my head is "Fucker won't return my calls, but Fucker will take my money." Bleh. The Boy is going to call and see if he can smooth things over and have the photographer, and me play nice. I sincerely doubt that will happen due to the dropping of the "A" word and the update of the company website to now reflect our wedding date as booked. Funny thing is I printed out a copy of the site this morning that indicated it wasn't booked. Sad thing is, there is no date on it. Bleh. Funny thing is, the photographer has notations in his HTML about when the site was last updated. Sad thing is I didn't print out this morning's notation. I hope The Boy smooths things over and either gets our money back or convinces the photographer to show up on time and deliver services as expected. Sigh. I hate it.

3:21 PM

Breathe in.... breathe out... The Boy done good. He mediated between the Fucktographer and me and we will be taking engagement photos at 8:00 am tomorrow morning. Techinically, this sucks a whole load of ass because I do have this pesky little thing called "work" to do, but the alternative was fighting like idiots over money for the next couple of months. Instinct tells me this is the right thing. We hired the guy because he seemed genuinely nice and takes good pictures. Besides, if he fucks up even a bit on the day of the wedding, I'll just cut my losses and move on. They're only pictures. Bigger things in life, people.

So now I'll try and return to being positive. Maybe getting this done and the invitations out the door will make my stomach stop churning like a Ben and Jerry's factory. My desk is more clean because I turn into a productive little worker bee when I'm under a lot of stress.

4:39 PM

Reality is setting in. I hate getting my picture taken. At 8:00 am tomorrow, I have to be all prettied up and ready to have someone that today I was ready to fire asking me to smile and hold my chin like this. I'll bet he can't take pictures like this:

In case you are trying to figure it out, that's supposed to be me glaring at the photographer.

5:09 PM

All of this productivity and angst inspired me to finally create my banner for my website. You think I'd maybe get around to upgrading the look of my site a bit, but nooooo! Here's a preview of what you may see coming soon!

It's not very creative, but I did manage to incorporate the color for my wedding and the color orange. Orange is always good.

5:12 PM

HA! I just tested my page to make sure the update went through. I think the font I chose makes it look like my banner reads: Nitprick. Hee hee!

9:38 a.m. - September 16, 2004

|

previous - next











latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

Journals I Read:

Plain-Jane

(not so) Evil Clomid

Colleen's Musings

Allison

Google Groups
Enter your email address to be notified of new entries:
Email:
Visit this group