-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Wedding Shit er Thursday

38 people will be attending my wedding. That's 38. So far, no one has RSVP'd in the negative. Woo! 38 people! CRAZY! A couple of people have already made hotel reservations. Little do they know that we don't have a band, haven't finalized plans for alcohol, have no table decorations, no flowers, no favors, no out of town gift bags, no cake, no toasts, no... well you get the idea. The Boy's task for the day is to book the Ol' Lady DJ. I so wish that were the actual name of the company, but in fact it's something lame and typical. It just occurred to me that we have absolutely no recommendations on this particular service. Hmmm... maybe I should find out the name. We just giggled when we saw them at a wedding show because they reminded us of the couple on Saturday Night Live. If I would've had my way, we would also have booked a room block at the Wellsley Inn here in KC. The thought of that being printed on our wedding invites cracks me shit up immensely.

My wedding task for the day is to call the limo company and see if they can figure out a way to provide service for three hours, disappear for two hours and then come back for a ride from the church to the reception without charging us for the two hours where they disappeared. If they can't figure that out, I'm going to instruct them to go to the nearby bar district and hold up a side saying "free rides home" during the two hours during which we didn't need their service. At least someone would benefit from their ripping me off... of course that someone might piss themselves in my limo, but oh well.

Last night, I worked late then headed to my house to meet up with The Boy and grab some din din. We were in the car driving to a lovely restaurant on the Plaza when my phone chimed at me. Because I travel, I have a fancy palm phone that syncs with my calendar, but only when the moon is perfectly aligned with Uranus and Saturn is in the second house of Mylanta. So it chimed. And I thought, "how annoying - this piece of shit never works." I picked it up to cancel the chiming, and it informed me that it was time for our last meeting with the couple from the church who is teaching us how to be married. At first I was piiised because girlfriend wanted some spicy tuna rolls, but then I got excited. The couple assigned to teach us how to be married ROCKS. They condensed the sessions and are really cool and funny and the time has flown. Last night's session was no exception. The skimmed right over the Catholic church's view on S-E-X and we were wrapped up by 8:45. Kool and the Gang!!! (who is coincidentally on the "do not play" list for the wedding - I DO NOT want to hear "Celebration" no matter how bad the Ol' Lady DJ wants to play it.) That song sucketh.

Actually, I lied in the last paragraph. I actually spent the time between 5:30 and 6:30 hunting down The Boy's desired wedding ring and ordering it from a store in Phoenix over the phone. Because ordering a ring he's never tried on over the phone from a store you've never been in is comforting. Excuse me while I visit our friends at the Better Business Bureau...of which they are members and have a Satisfactory rating. Woo! They've been members for four years. Woo!!! I feel much better now. I'm about to feel much worse because I'm slightly lactose intolerant and I can't stop eating the warm yogurt parfait that was leftover from someone's morning business meeting. Smart.

Alright, now I must go back to work. I still don't have my USB cord which means no pics. Sorry!

10:17 a.m. - September 23, 2004

|

previous - next











latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

Journals I Read:

Plain-Jane

(not so) Evil Clomid

Colleen's Musings

Allison

Google Groups
Enter your email address to be notified of new entries:
Email:
Visit this group