-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Taerna's a Tavern

And we're back in Kansas City. Woo! I think all I accomplished on that business trip was getting a really stiff neck. Really stiff. I'm on my muscle relaxers which make me not focus well but seemingly have no other effect than that, so I'm misreading and incorrectly commenting in Jane's guestbook. Nice. I also sent an email to a co-worker to dispel a rumor that I heard and used real names and what was actually said versus "protecting those who may have misunderstood by omitting real names and direct quotes." The latter is the typically accepted practice due to office politics, so I'm sure to have created a hell-storm by communicating clearly and directly. Greaaaat.

So in case you were all on the edge of your collective seat waiting to learn if I went to the fantabulous business function all by myself, well, it is true. I did go alone. I made the slight mistake of thinking the function was a lot further away from my hotel than it actually was so I arrived a full 12 minutes earlier than I wanted to be there which was still half an hour after the function actually started. You do the math on that. Basically, that meant that people were just starting to trickle in, so my aloneness was quite conspicuous. That and the fact that I was a full fourteen years younger than the average function attendee. Anyhow, it wasn't that bad, and I ended up talking to a business associate who was quite nice despite the fact that he looks like Gary Sleezak, my most hated weather person EVER. Seriously - I long for the days of Merril Teller. Sigh.

I decided not to eat the fried bevy of food offered at the House of Snooze (thus named due to the boring nature of the event). I left after an hour or so of socializing, and walked back to my hotel all the while on the lookout for a good place to eat. I settled on the Italian restaurant located in my hotel. Usually, even eating at the hotel restaurant can be a big mistake, but this place was truly a treat. It was their very first night ever of business and I was treated to an outstanding meal. Superb even. Twice in the past month, I've been pleased to have been offered a small plate of olives and a pit bowl as an appetizer versus the standard serving of bread. Dare I say thank you to all the carb freaks out there who may have challenged restaurants to adopt this practice? Yummy! I love olives!

Again, I was dining alone, and the restaurant was new, so no doubt, the service was attentive, thoughtful and kind. Everything I ate was excellent. Everything. Especially the Brussels sprouts. Did she say Brussels sprouts? Yes. Brussels sprouts. They must have soaked in butter for a week prior to being caramelized and lovingly placed on the plate before me. I almost cried as I ate the last one. Damn they were good. I will certainly go back to that place. Good stuff.

Anyhow, enough food descriptions. I'm in my office now, and of course have no ability to concentrate thanks to the muscle relaxers that seem to have no effect other than to cloud my brain and make me easily distracted.  Taerna just said she was hot and I actually couldn't respond to whether or not I was hot or cold in the office. Stupid brain. Also, did you know that if you run a spell check on a document with the word "Taerna" in it, that it suggests "tavern" as the appropriate replacement? Speaking of taverns, I need your help. In my guestbook, please describe for me what you believe a "tavern" to be. I promise a picture and an explanation in exchange for your guestbook posts.

2:39 p.m. - December 01, 2004

|

previous - next











latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

Journals I Read:

Plain-Jane

(not so) Evil Clomid

Colleen's Musings

Allison

Google Groups
Enter your email address to be notified of new entries:
Email:
Visit this group