-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I hate my back

A lo from Chicago. I just spent the day explaining to all of my business associates that yes, I do have a new last name, but no, it is not represented on my business cards. But you can email me at [email protected] but no, my card doesn't say that. See, I was prepared for this and actually put in a request for new business cards long ago. However. My company didn't seem to give a shit. Anyhow, everyone was really excited for me what with getting married and going to Hawaii and all. So that was nice.

I am supposed to go to some fabulous event this evening that starts at 6:30 pm. That's still an hour and change away and I'm in my hotel room. Leaving my hotel room into rain turning into snow will be difficult, but I think I'll manage. I have to go. I have been on my feet all freakin' day, so I'm not looking forward to it. Plus, I don't have anyone to go with, and I already ate dinner in a restaurant alone last night. Have any of you ever done that? I've actually found that many people swear they'd never do that. I find it somewhat entertaining on a non-regular basis. If you've never done it, you should try it. First off, the servers always seem to pay extra special attention to you - like they pity you. As long as you aren't truly miserable, you can use this to your advantage. For instance last night, I was able to get a few spears of asparagus added to my plate without having to order the large family style portion for myself.

I was eating at a steak place because I craved me some red meat. I was the only chick in the room for the longest time and in front of me sat a plate of filet mignon and potatoes. Combined with an elegant glass of red wine, I was the star of the joint. I had multiple cheesy businessmen make comments about how I shouldn't be dining alone. None of them lingered of course because merely saying something made them blush and scurry off to the table. Anyhow, I ate my steak and flipped through a stylish furniture catalog. Superfine. The steak there was at least three times better than the crap I would've eaten from room service. In case you have never ordered room service, just know that it is completely the waste of money you always suspected it is.

I apologize in advance for my rambling. You see, rotating all of our shit throughout the house, driving to and from Salina and sleeping in three different beds in the past five days has made my back hurt like hell. Add in a day on my feet and well, hello muscle relaxers. Focus. Focus.

Yeah. I don't know where I was going with this entry. Did y'all realize that Christmas is only a few weeks away? It's like super close. Like really close. Crazy, huh? Alright, I'm going to go zone out to some free cable for awhile. I'll try to focus tomorrow. Later!

5:28 p.m. - November 30, 2004

|

previous - next











latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

Journals I Read:

Plain-Jane

(not so) Evil Clomid

Colleen's Musings

Allison

Google Groups
Enter your email address to be notified of new entries:
Email:
Visit this group