-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Hair today, gone tomorrow

Oh aren�t you all just salivating with anticipation. Wait � you may have already noticed the fancy new design of my journal. That is thanks to Bonkrood who is absolutely fabulous. I heart Bonkrood. She heard my sad cry for help with the Diaryland Sunset theme and came to my rescue with this hip and fanciful design. Love it!!!!

But that�s not all!!!! There are more big changes in store!

Exactly 2 years and 11 months ago, I started my job at the company I work for today. Without going into great detail, my company has something to do with children�s hospitals throughout the country which I have the privilege of visiting throughout the year. You encounter a lot of amazing people when you go to a children�s hospital � mostly the kids themselves. I�ve waited in the lobbies of different hospitals and had little kids come up to me, smile a toothless smile and bat their long eyelashes, and then push their IV stand off with them to watch the elaborate train set whirl around the tracks. One little girl cautiously strayed away from her mom to toddle up to me and touch the end of my long wool coat only to then scurry away and hide behind her mother, peeking out to share her beautiful shy smile. Sometimes you can see how sick a kid is, other times, you have no idea what illness is lurking behind their tired eyes.

Anyhow, I started looking around for something I could do and have found numerous charities that help sick kids. In my search, I came across Locks of Love. When I started here, my hair was in a cute little bob. I decided I wouldn�t cut my hair again until it was long enough to donate to Locks of Love. This picture was taken on my honeymoon just a couple of months ago:

I�m writing a postcard to Eli. Yes, I am a dork.

In case you aren�t familiar with Locks of Love, they are a non-profit organization that provides custom hairpieces to financially disadvantaged kids who are suffering from medical hair loss. You can read that sentence and more about Locks of Love on their website. After almost three years of growing, my hair was finally long enough to donate.

So here is the before:

And here is the after:

And here is my hair riding home with me in the car. Ew.

And here is my hair lying on the dining room table. Super ew.

And here is my hair in a baggie. Ew to the nth degree.

So that�s my big news. No, I�m not preggers, Mrs. Martin. I just chopped off all my hair. I got to choose to grow my hair long, and I got to choose to cut my hair short. And hopefully, some kid who doesn�t get those choices might get to choose not to wear a hat or get taunted for not having hair like the other kids at school.

10:13 a.m. - January 11, 2005

|

previous - next











latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

Journals I Read:

Plain-Jane

(not so) Evil Clomid

Colleen's Musings

Allison

Google Groups
Enter your email address to be notified of new entries:
Email:
Visit this group