-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Artificial Contraception Anyone?

On Saturday, I went to Targret with my mom and mother-in-law to buy a bevy of bins for Ryan�s stuff that needed to be organized and stored. While there, I ran into the couple that had taught Ryan and I how to be married according to the Catholic Church. If I hadn�t mentioned it before, they were super cool and never really followed the official workbooks we were supposed to use. Anywho, we ran into each other right near the front entrance to the store and proceeded with a bit of catching up after the holidays. They�d redecorated their living room, Ryan and I are knee deep in remodeling, blah blah blah. Then, the conversation took an odd turn with the statement by �Barb� that �I�m not sure if Bill and I can keep teaching the marriage preparation classes what with the new Bishop announcing his intent to preach heavily on the Church�s stance on artificial contraception and intercourse before marriage.�

Knowing Barb and her background as a nurse and a few other key things about Barb and Bill�s relationship, this abrupt change in conversation made sense after I had a few seconds to digest the words �artificial contraception and intercourse� while standing near the greeting card section of a mass retailer. How we phased from �putting up sheetrock� to �artificial contraception� remains a mystery as does how I managed to reply and not register a look of confused shock upon my face. I guess Barb and the new Bishop will just have to agree to disagree on that one.

Most of my weekend was spent in the nasty confines of my crappy unfinished basement with my mom shifting 100-year-old boards from stacks standing along the cobwebbed covered stone walls, to piles on a cobweb covered pallet. Because that is a productive and worthwile task and no bother that it has left a nice tightness in my lower back muscles along with general stiffness in the neck and shoulders.

Two floors up, my dad and father-in-law made quite a bit of progress applying sheetrock to closets and corners and running new thermostat lines and the like. They also constructed a shelving unit and installed a KICK ASS microwave/oven/time machine in my shitty kitchen. I kid you not, I have the best kitchen appliances in the WORLD crammed into a shoebox of a ghetto kitchen with crumbling plaster walls. Had I more than three square feet of counter space, I might have been inspired to make something a little more gourmet than pizza rolls last night.

At exactly 3:00 am, I awoke to an incredible dryness in my mouth so that I could hardly swallow. Knowing that I would not sleep unless I addressed this issue, I headed downstairs to the kitchen to fetch a drink. Can I just say how much I love the taste of an ice cold Diet Sprite at 3:00 am? I would�ve drank a glass of water, but I was too lazy to fill the glass. Mmmm � middle of the night Diet Sprite.

That�s about it for now. Stay tuned for a couple of changes in the next couple of days. Like big changes. No, the Phucktographer hasn�t delivered our pictures and no, Ryan�s ring hasn�t arrived from the jeweler in Pa-honix. But big changes. BIG!

11:18 a.m. - January 10, 2005

|

previous - next











latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

Journals I Read:

Plain-Jane

(not so) Evil Clomid

Colleen's Musings

Allison

Google Groups
Enter your email address to be notified of new entries:
Email:
Visit this group