-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Link Happy

I have to admit. I am captivated by the journey of Steve Fossett as he attempts the first continuous solo jet aircraft flight around the world. I was first sucked into the story by the announcement that his journey would commence from my hometown of Salina, KS. I like to imagine Sir Richard Branson strolling through the aisles at Orschlen�s admiring the latest Carhartt fashions while smelling like Cozy Inn burgers. Better yet, imagine running into Steve Fossett while he was selecting his diet milkshakes off the shelf at the Key Rexall in the Sunset Plaza or trying to convince Bogey�s to create yet another flavor of milkshake. Word to the wise � never review the Bogey�s menu on an empty stomach. I�ve got a craving for cheese fries and a Thousand Island Burger that has me twitching like a crack whore who needs her fix off the rock. Just out of curiosity � for those who clicked on the Bogey�s link � which milkshake are you craving? The Brandy Alexander? The Strawberry Pina Colada? Don�t be suckered into the Bogey Surprise. I promise you it�s no good.

Anyhow, back to the Global Flyer . I�ve read most of the press releases on the web site, and have giggled at quotes such as Sir Richard Branson saying, �I had never even heard of Salina, Kansas. After this, I hope that everyone in the world will know where Salina, Kansas is.� In regards to what will sustain Mr. Fossett during the 60 hour flight, one press release notes what he ate in days prior to the flight ��to ensure that nothing upsets his digestive system and to dispense with the worry and inconvenience of mid-air of bowel movements.� I�m with Steve. I would do anything in my power to ensure that I wasn�t gassin� it up in that tiny cockpit for 60 hours. La Hacienda? I think not. The article went on to note that �he will also be equipped with a pee bottle and a supply of diet milkshakes - which are low residue yet nutritious.� Pee bottle, low residue!?!!? Watch out, Chris Rock � this material is actually funny!

All joking aside, as I sit in my cosy little office banging my fist on my desk because I can�t get my spreadsheet to do what I want it to do, I like the idea that someone is out there breaking past the barriers we all perceive to be true. I�m inspired to think that someday, maybe I�ll figure out how to break past column IV.

Meanwhile, back in the world of mediocrity and the status quo, I�ve got work to do. Speaking of work, I�m going to give you one more link for the day. You�ve heard me criticize advertising in the past. The Sonic people have yet to heed my advice and fire those idiots in the SUV. Well here�s a company that produces good advertising and it looks like they�ve found a client who appreciates their work and sense of humour. For the cat lovers in the group, please refer to the second tiny square for a treat. Seriously people. I have tears running down my cheeks from laughing so hard.

I give you�. Fallon Worldwide . Click on the first picture of the man holding two cats. Now that�s inspired advertising. LOVE IT!

10:25 a.m. - March 02, 2005

|

previous - next











latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

Journals I Read:

Plain-Jane

(not so) Evil Clomid

Colleen's Musings

Allison

Google Groups
Enter your email address to be notified of new entries:
Email:
Visit this group