-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

The Cheap Seats

Evidentially, none of you share my passion for the Global Flyer or Bogey�s milkshakes. Whatever. FINE! History was made today, people. HISTORY!

Last night, I had the good fortune of attending the Allison Krauss and Union Station concert at one of the finest venues in Kansas City. I say finest, but really I just mean that it is quite lovely. The seats are small and uncomfortable, but then again, so were the people when the theatre was built in the 1920s. I had the unfortunate task of perching atop Ryan�s coat on my seat so I could see over the mulletted head of the white trash woman in front of me. I could have strangled this woman. As soon as the music started, she began swaying violently from side to side, revealing then concealing any view of the stage I might have had from about 80 feet above the stage. A song or two in, she prodded her crispy haired husband/date, and he proceeded to sway, too, only in the opposite direction so that their densely thick skulls would rap together just off the beat. This continued throughout the entire show until the Bobsy Twins found a new movement. This involved talking to each other during every song. I don�t know which is worse � seeing only half the show because the silhouette of a mullet and crispy over-gelled hair moves in and out of my line of sight or watching the upper half of Allison Krauss over the extra long beak the woman was sporting. Seriously. She looked like an ugly version of Carson from Straight Eye, only I�m bettin� her eyes were crossed. Oh how I longed to flick her in the back of the head.

The music was great, but Allison spent a little too much time on the between song banter. At one point, she imitated the voice of the Super Nanny, which was funny, however most of the hicks in the crowd couldn�t understand her. All she had said was, �Supah Nanny� in a British accent, and that inspired much cackling in the audience as husbands and wives struggled to translate her big city ways for each other. Nonetheless, the concert made for an enjoyable evening.

Okay. You want to know how exciting my life is? I just spent 10 minutes discussing with others the correct pronunciation of the word �gala.� I still don�t know if we know how to correctly pronounce that word. I think we settled on �Gay-la� for now. Fun.

I really didn�t accomplish much at work today due to my love of the Global Flyer. I watched a live feed of it preparing to land and even got a little teary eyed as the different airlines chimed in with their congratulations as Steve Fossett was granted permission to land on runway 17 in Salina. I agree with one of the guys on the radio � he is a stud. I held my breath as Steve prepared to climb out of that tiny cockpit after being confined to that space for 67 hours and hoped against all hope that his knees would support him as he soaked in the cheers of the locals who�d gathered to see him. I then proceeded to laugh as the Salina South band donned their �Big Bird�s Dong� hats and played some shitty song to welcome him. Anyhow, the whole event was pretty cool. Congratulations, super adventurer guy who will never read my web site and his rich billionaire friend. You guys rock.

5:15 p.m. - March 03, 2005

|

previous - next











latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

Journals I Read:

Plain-Jane

(not so) Evil Clomid

Colleen's Musings

Allison

Google Groups
Enter your email address to be notified of new entries:
Email:
Visit this group