-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Weekend Update

I apologize for being absent for the past couple of days. My life kicked it up a notch, and I�m just now getting a breather. This past weekend consisted of the following:

  • Watching KU blow it, yet again
  • Drinking way too much wine
  • Waking up with a pounding headache on Saturday
  • Interviewing a guy to refinish the hardwood floors
  • Picking up sub sandwiches and flowers from Home Depot
  • Showing two people Ryan�s house which is for sale
  • Driving to Salina
  • Attending my cousin�s wedding shower in Salina which consisted of eating at a BBQ buffet restaurant then watching Jane get attacked by allergies.
  • Waking up on Sunday, watching Holly sign a few letters (so cute!), then driving three hours back to Kansas City.
  • Filling out real estate forms the whole car ride home.
  • Waiting impatiently for the Dave the Sheetrocker to show up so we could get his bid.
  • Talking to Ryan�s mom for 15 minutes while still waiting on Dave the Sheetrocker.
  • Driving to Ryan�s house to show a girl the house who said she was �Just going to get a cup of coffee and then be right over � bullshit.
  • Hosting an Open House at Ryan�s House while also trying to clean all of the winter debris out from around his house. I filled six lawn and leaf bags � ridiculous!
  • Interviewing a realtor to sell the house for us.
  • Getting interrupted during the interview by the girl who went to get coffee five hours ago
  • Entertaining Ryan�s mom, grandparents, aunt, cousin and cousin�s boyfriend for 30 minutes
  • Passing out, face down in pepperoni pizza from exhaustion

    I wish I could say that things have gotten a little less crazy over the past few days, but they haven�t. My company decided that since I didn�t drink the Kool-aid in the first go-round of our two day brainwashing session in December that I needed to go back for more. The principles of this particular workshop are okay, but the delivery leaves a lot to be desired. Watching a DVD of an annoying speaker isn�t my idea of a valuable way to spend two work days, but oh well. Supposedly, if I bought into what I was taught, I�d become a highly successful individual and shit like that. Whatever.

    During my brainwashing, we were each asked to write down our philosophy of life. I wrote down two words: Don�t Suck. My co-workers in my sub-group got a kick out of my little philosophy and actually accused me of having not thought through that question. I convinced them otherwise explaining that I want to do the things I choose to do well, not necessarily the best, and delegate or avoid things that I don�t do well at. This practice enables me to help others, be a productive member of society, hug trees and all of that other bullshit. When Ryan got home last night and asked me about my day, I asked him his philosophy of life, not yet disclosing mine. He responded that his philosophy of life is to: Kick Ass. There you go. I married a man with close to the same philosophy of life as me � only his stated as a positive and mine as a negative. He truly is the yin to my yang.

    Coinciding with my two day break from reality was the introduction of Dave the Sheetrocker. Now I won�t dare repeat any of the colorful colloquialisms Dave the Sheetrocker shared with Ryan and me this morning, but I will say that he is a no holds barred type of guy. In addition to sharing a few stories fraught with colorful language and stereotypes, Dave also likes to leave us with a little inspiration as we head out to tackle our days. Yesterday, he bid me to have a �Super fantastic day!� which I failed miserably at. Today, I was instructed to have a �Prosperous Day!� So far, I haven�t done anything that will earn me any more money, sense of well-being, etc, but I did pay off a credit card bill that I had almost forgotten thus avoiding the late fee, so I suppose that could be considered prosperous. It is a freaky thing, having a complete stranger in the house all day with no supervision. I just know that I�m going to be calling the cops complaining that something was taken, but Ryan assures me that things will be just fine. Ryan is also the guy that insisted on rehiring the Phucktographer, so I don�t know why I continue to trust his bid-ness judgment. Oh well. The cat seems to enjoy having someone around during the day, so at least there�s that.

    12:49 p.m. - March 24, 2005

    |

    previous - next











  • latest entry

    about me

    archives

    notes

    DiaryLand

    contact

    random entry

    Journals I Read:

    Plain-Jane

    (not so) Evil Clomid

    Colleen's Musings

    Allison

    Google Groups
    Enter your email address to be notified of new entries:
    Email:
    Visit this group