-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Excuse me, miss. There's a toilet brush in your sink.

About a week ago, my beloved soap-containing dishwashing brush snapped when it was dropped on the ground spewing sticky blue antibacterial ultra-concentrated oil-repelling fresh mountain berry scented dishwashing soap all over the floor. Seriously � how many more adjectives can they come up with to describe soap these days? Anyhow, it wasn�t the soap spillage that saddened me. Oh no. It was the loss of the wonderous brush. It was the first soap-containing dishwashing brush that hadn�t leaked soap all over the place. It had a fabulous grip, and it made my life so much easier. I don�t have a dishwasher. I should mention that � might explain why I�m waxing nostalgic over a damn brush. Digressing � again. The damn brush broke. I was sad. I went to the store to buy a new brush, but alas, all of the college going youth had purchased almost every brush in the store. Woe is me! Back at the homestead, I was reduced to using the second dishwashing brush we had. The sole purpose for this brush had been to clean out drink glasses. It was a straight brush with a head of round bristles. Well-used, I decided that while at the store again on Saturday that I would replace that brush as well. All new dishwashing brushes � it would be like Christmas if you lived a really sad pathetic life where dishwashing brushes passed for Christmas presents � in August. God this is getting to be a bad entry.

Let�s recap � Fabulous brush broke, soap spilled, soap cleaned up, no brush at first store, round brush is also in need of replacement, at the store standing in the brush aisle and� they�ve restocked. Angels sing as I remove the fabulous brush from the shelf. A light shines down from above and glows on the brush as it is placed in the cart. I am overcome with joy! And then Ryan and I begin looking for the round brush. It is nowhere to be seen. We love that brush, too, but in a different way. It doesn�t contain soap, but it does a heavenly job of cleaning out glasses and things that are small and cylindrical � like glasses and up under the rim of pot lids. That should have been my first clue. We were searching the racks, and finally, a few feet down from the first brush, I spot the round brush. Eureka! I cry out to the uncomfortable glances of the other shoppers in the aisle. I�m about to put it in the cart when Ryan takes a closer look at the shelf.

Ryan: Are you sure that�s the same brush as we have at home?

Me: Yeah. I think it is exactly the same � though this one has yellow bristles and ours has aqua.

Ryan: Well the label says it is a toilet brush.

Me: It can�t be. I�ve had this brush forever.

Ryan: See, (pointing at a label on the brush that clearly reads �Toilet Bowl Brush�) it is for the shitter.

Me: Oh God! I wonder how many people have stared at our kitchen sink thinking � �honey � why do they have a toilet brush in their kitchen?�

Ryan: Well it works, doesn�t it?!?! Let�s just get it.

Me: Oh hell no. It can�t be. This, but. Why? Why have we had a toilet brush in our kitchen for who even knows how long? Why!!!

In our defense, the brush in the kitchen is much smaller than what you�d think of as a toilet brush. In fact, it may be a bottle brush or some other kitchen related item. Whatever it is, it has been relabeled and has brought shame to my home. Can you imagine? I might as well have one of those toilet brush holders set up on the sink. Crimony! Of course the problem is that I really like the way that brush works. I guess I�m going to have to research my brush choices a bit more closely. I�m sure there is something out there other than a toilet brush that works magic on tall thin glasses.

Anyhow, that amused us for awhile. In other news, we saw Ben Folds and Rufus Wainwright in concert. I love me some Ben Folds. It was raining during the outdoor concert, but a few beers reduced that to a mere annoyance. On Sunday, we lounged about watching movies and such. Nothing too crazy. It is nice and cool in Kansas City right now, but unfortunately that also means it is grey outside. It is making me sleepy and my motivation to go to the gym is well � typing �go to the gym� made me yawn. It ain�t happening. I�m going home to wash my dishes. Later.

5:59 p.m. - August 15, 2005

|

previous - next











latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

Journals I Read:

Plain-Jane

(not so) Evil Clomid

Colleen's Musings

Allison

Google Groups
Enter your email address to be notified of new entries:
Email:
Visit this group