-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Randomness

In the wee hours of the morning, right about 4:15 am, a milestone event occurred. I woke up suddenly. I had drained a large glass of water just before bed, and my bladder wasn�t happy. For the past two years, this has required a stumbling sleepy walk down a creaking staircase into the lone operating bathroom in my house located just off a formal dining room. Well not this morning! The Master Bathroom is functioning!!! What used to be a walk-in closet is now a functioning bathroom complete with shower, sink and toilet. Oh the joy! I wish I could share a couple of pictures with you because it is glorious, alas Ryan has the camera, and I think he�s lost the cord for it as well. I know it is weird to get all excited about peeing in a former closet, but it was the highlight of my day.

As you can guess, this means that the weekend was spent working on the house. I installed a new door knob and deadbolt on an exterior door while my dad, father-in-law and husband installed two tile floors, a sink, a toilet and baseboards. Yeah � the accomplished just a bit more than I did. I also led a misguided attempt to install the toilet paper holder in the new master bathroom, but that caused more frustration than it did joy. I suck. And just for the record, deciding on the placement of a toilet paper holder is a harder task than one would think. Plus, it requires sitting on the toilet while discussing placement which is just weird when others are in the room.

Anyhow, enough talk about toilets. There are a bunch of geese in my office park. They like to hang out by the mailboxes just up the street, where they smoke cigarettes and talk trash on mallards and pintails. There were a whole gaggle of them on Friday when I was leaving, and the activity of a couple of them next to the FedEx box on the opposite side of the street distracted me for a split second. That tiny distraction almost caused one goose to lose his life as he emerged from behind the Airbone Express box that is on my side of the street. I managed to swerve and avoid him, and as I straightened the car out, I looked in the rearview mirror to confirm that he was safe. He had straightened his neck all up tall and was watching me intently as if to say, �Oh no you di�ent!� Punk ass goose.

On Friday night, I ended up at Worlds of Fun. In addition to forced work-related socializing, the goal of the evening was to ride one roller coaster. After the picnic, we strolled up the hill and through various regionally themed areas selling overpriced snacks to hideously bad music to the Mamba. I�ve ridden this rollercoaster a couple of other times. One ride with the Snow Princess was quite entertaining. She was wearing a loose fitting v-neck shirt and when the camera snapped our picture it revealed that the gale force winds of the Mamba�s 70 MPH descent had stretched the v-neck down over her left breast revealing her lacy bra. We didn�t buy that picture, but we both wondered if anyone else did. Friday night�s ride was much less embarrassing, but still pretty fun. Ryan insisted on waiting for the very front seat of the very front car. Sometimes, he is so seven years old. We had fun on the ride, walked around a bit and then left. It was so nasty humid we were covered in greasy sweat after only being there for an hour. Kansas City in August � yummy.

Alright, I�ve got to get back to more important things. I�ve fully submitted my impulse grad school application, now I need to focus on completing the real grad school application. Two more bs questions to answer and one resume to update. Joy.

11:39 a.m. - August 22, 2005

|

previous - next











latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

Journals I Read:

Plain-Jane

(not so) Evil Clomid

Colleen's Musings

Allison

Google Groups
Enter your email address to be notified of new entries:
Email:
Visit this group