-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Puke and Ponies

I've been sucking it up lately with the diary entries. I've been sick. Well, not really sick, but just under the weather. That is until today. This afternoon to be exact. I am traveling right now, so I am not at home. Not the most fun when one is feeling a bit under the weather. I was in my hotel bathroom, snot running down the back of my throat causing for a scratchy throat and a nice hacking cough. I was tired of coughing, tired of trickling snot, tired of being in a hotel bathroom. I took a step forward to get another tissue when I started coughing really hard. I put my hand up to my mouth to cover the cough as one tends to do. I hacked and coughed and my whole body convulsed with each cough until...

I puked on my hand. I coughed so damn hard that I actually vomited on my hand. You want to know what's even grosser than that? I had Mexican food for lunch. Post-processed Mexican food doesn't smell so good, so despite not having had any prior symptoms of stomach illness, I quickly developed a few. Luckily, all this took place in a bathroom - a hotel bathroom. One that doesn't require me to clean diligently behind the commode.

Gross, huh?

You'd think that would be the end of the day. Surely puking on one's hand would be a good enough excuse to get out of a business dinner. Except no. So I just sat sniffling through a five star dinner which was fabulous all the time wishing I were snuggled in my crappy hotel bed with my smelly hotel toilet near by. Sigh.

On top of that, because I had been feeling better up until I got on a plane this morning, I hadn't brought along any cold medicine. Stupid me. One trip to the drugstore and $20 later, I have enough cold medicine to knock out a pony. A green pony with a purple mane. Hey, this stuff must be kicking in! I'll try to update tomorrow. We'll see.

P.S. My childhood nightmare involved a green horse with a purple mane and yellow eyes. It would chase me throughout the streets with it's nostrils flared. It was relentless in its pursuit of me, chasing me until I woke up drenched in sweat and crying out in fear. Not surprisingly, I was never a big fan of My Little Pony when it first hit the market. That shit still creeps me out.

While on the topic of ponies, my friend, the Snow Princess, once said something that cracked my shit up. We were talking about crazy interview questions one might ask to throw a potential candidate off track. She thought to ask, "Tell me a little bit about your inner pony."

I have never been able to formulate a response to that question that is as funny as is the question itself. Inner pony - hee!

8:57 p.m. - August 30, 2005

|

previous - next











latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

Journals I Read:

Plain-Jane

(not so) Evil Clomid

Colleen's Musings

Allison

Google Groups
Enter your email address to be notified of new entries:
Email:
Visit this group