-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

T-Minus 6 Days

I just emailed my professor my five year career goals. I can�t tell you how many times I�ve been asked this shit over the past year. If I were honest, I would say �I want to make increasingly large sums of money while maintaining or decreasing my current level of responsibility.� That isn�t actually true � I don�t mind more responsibility. Let�s try again. �I want to make increasingly large sums of money while decreasing the level of bullshit I have to put up with the understanding that what I consider bullshit is completely subjective and also subject to change without notice.� That is more like it. I am not completely shallow about the whole money bit, by the way. If I make more money, I can donate more money to stuff and that makes everything a-okay. Right?

Anyhow, I emailed the professor who happens to have done a bunch of work for my company, and she emailed me back indicating that she was excited to have a student from my company and would try not to call on me too often. She might want to take her own advice; I was never very fond of the long and complicated surveys her company conducted at our company in order to tell us whether or not we sucked. If she calls on me, I might just tell her as much. I�ve never much had a problem with complete honesty in an academic setting unless it relates to my tardiness or lack of a completed assignment. Ironically, my candor in the classroom has always seemed to benefit the times when I do need to make an excuse for being late or missing a class completely. Somehow, telling the truth most of the times makes one�s lies easier to swallow. We�ll see if that flies in grad school.

One misfortune of my twice weekly commitment to higher education is the conflict with the volleyball team. While my volleyball team is getting Tachikara Tattoos on the forehead from their far superior opponents, I�ll be sitting in a classroom feigning interest in whatever in my peers� opinions on organizational management and other such bullshit. Shudder. I was honored that in response to my email to the group indicating that I won�t be able to play this go-round that the group suggested instead that we all just schedule a drinking night once a week. Maybe if we called it a weekly game of pool it would fly. I suck at pool almost more than I suck at volleyball, but if it gets me out once a week, I�m game.

Tomorrow, I am headed to the campus in the afternoon to buy books (ugh), get my student ID (sweet � cheaper movies!) and activate my campus email account (bleh.) It still doesn�t feel like I�m actually going to be going back to school, but I figure the whole student ID ought to make it real. There is nothing like a piece of plastic with an awful picture of you in your purse to make something tangible. My other class for this first semester is a catch-up course in accounting. I�m dreading that like none other. I suppose that is a bit odd since my resume brags of a two year stint managing the accounts for a business, but really, all I did was make sure that the checkbook balanced out and that people paid their bills. I�m sure there�s much more to accounting than that. I guess I�m about to find out.

In other news, I was all fired up this morning to see what www.savethebluths.org had to offer. Last night, me and the 17 other people who watch Arrested Development were teased with the URL during the show. I just logged on, and after a brief intro it says more coming soon. Like when? After the show has been cancelled? Anyhow, as usual, the show made me laugh and made me feel I have a sense of humor far superior those of you who don�t watch the show, so that was nice. Scrubs starts this week, so I am in TV heaven. I lurve Scrubs.

3:02 p.m. - January 03, 2006

|

previous - next











latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

Journals I Read:

Plain-Jane

(not so) Evil Clomid

Colleen's Musings

Allison

Google Groups
Enter your email address to be notified of new entries:
Email:
Visit this group