-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

The List

I know this is weird, but I have an aversion to calling people on the phone. I don't mind it so much with family or friends, but even if it is something as stupid as calling to order a pizza, I try to figure my way out of it (thank you online ordering!) This is incredibly inconvenient as I need to make calls to a number of home child care providers to see about options for our kiddo. I have all of the phone numbers and names I need, a spreadsheet ready to start capturing all the info on each one we'll interview and a couple of solid recommendations from friends, yet the only thing holding me back is the idea of placing the calls. Ugh!

Our list of things to do is growing steadily, so I'm attempting to cross at least one thing off the list each day. Jane mocked Ryan and me for our extensive list making habits, but it is truly the most effective way for me to keep track and make progress on all the little and big things we need to do. I suppose the list would seem a bit silly to an outsider as under the "Buy" column, it lists things as small as flip flops and as large as a car. Regardless, it makes me feel equally successful to cross something off the list.

Today's list item is to get contacts for Ryan. The bonus item is to complete the state registration process for my existing car which is slowly falling apart. In its current state, the gas gauge does not work, the passenger window controls do not work and it has a lovely dent in the front of it where a neighbor backed a U-Haul into it. "Buy car" has been on the list since last August, and it has never been a financial problem but more a focus problem that has prevented us from crossing it off the list. Ryan seems a bit more engaged in selecting a new car now, and at this point, I could really care less what he chooses, so long as it holds a car seat.

12:49 p.m. - August 12, 2008

|

previous - next











latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

Journals I Read:

Plain-Jane

(not so) Evil Clomid

Colleen's Musings

Allison

Google Groups
Enter your email address to be notified of new entries:
Email:
Visit this group