-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

And the OBGYN says....

So now I've stunned my OBGYN with my inflammed leg. She commented that she learned only a few years back that there would always be something new present with one of her patients - that she'd never see it all. Sure enough, this was the first time she'd seen anything like my leg. She was so intrigued, she had my lie down on my stomach so she could get a good look. She and Ryan then engaged in a lively discussion about the pattern, coverage and progression of the rash. It was kinda entertaining because I think they forgot I was there for a couple of minutes.

Ryan offered that I bruise easily and took a long time to heal from cuts or scratches. She scribbled furiously in her notes and asked him for some examples. He pointed to various marks on my legs and provided the story behind each. They also agreed that they couldn't understand why the dermatologist had biopsied the upper back thigh when clearly the origin and most obvious markings were on my lower calf. That seemed to baffle the architect and the doctor both.

All in all, she recommends the wait, see and CALL ME WITH ANY CHANGES approach. Ironically, I think the "CALL ME" approach has less to do with concerns about my health and more to do with her curiousity about the whole thing. Our pregnancy has been fairly normal thus far, so this was clearly more interesting than our silly questions about what tests are next, when I need to get my RH negative booster shot, etc.

Oh, and by the way, the pregnancy is going well, everything looks normal, see you in four weeks.

So all I know now is that I've stunned an internist, two dermatologist, an OBGYN and a business chock full of medical professionals with my leg. Fantastic.

4:24 p.m. - August 11, 2008

|

previous - next











latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

Journals I Read:

Plain-Jane

(not so) Evil Clomid

Colleen's Musings

Allison

Google Groups
Enter your email address to be notified of new entries:
Email:
Visit this group