-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Two Weeks of Nora

Okay � now that I�ve recorded the official birth story of Nora, I can move on to what has been going on during the other two weeks of her life. The hospital stay was pretty uneventful. In addition to the student anesthesiologist, we had a student nurse. It was her first day on the mother and baby unit, and in talking with her, she said she�d considered specializing in mother and baby once she was done with her schooling. Nora and I were her only patients, so she followed both of us through all our different checkups and screenings. Sadly, I can�t remember her name, but I do plan to send a letter and holiday card to the hospital in the hopes that they can get it to her. She was really sweet, and got super excited when Nora demonstrated the Moro reflex (a.k.a the startle reflex). Her excitement reminded me of my Childhood Development and Psychology textbook from college which I�ve since been reading aloud to Nora while she nurses. Ryan found it ironic that the book starts with conception and ends with teenage gangs. We�re hoping that isn�t the path of Nora�s life.

Ryan had the first week of work off, and he took the following Monday off as well for Nora�s first doctor�s appointment. He plans to take another week off over the holidays and more time here and there during January and February. He also has enough time to help me ease back into work beginning March 1st. In the meantime, Nora and I are getting used to having the house to ourselves during the day. For the most part, she sleeps a lot. I alternate between sleeping and doing a few chores around the house.

Nora�s had lots of visitors, and for the most part, she�s been either awake and happy or sleeping during the visits. She sat on her cousin Holly�s lap for a good 20 minutes the first night Holly visited, and the whole time she was awake and happy.

Ryan is off on his first business trip Post-Nora. He left this morning for the San Francisco Bay area and won�t be home until Wednesday. Nora has spent the day sleeping which suggests she�ll be up all night. I suppose she was up for a little while this morning for her holiday photo shoot. I�ll leave you with a quick preview!


5:23 p.m. - December 15, 2008

|

previous - next











latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

Journals I Read:

Plain-Jane

(not so) Evil Clomid

Colleen's Musings

Allison

Google Groups
Enter your email address to be notified of new entries:
Email:
Visit this group