-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Merry Christmas Nora!

Nora's first Christmas has been a busy one! Our big celebration was yesterday. We hosted the family at our house including my brothers and their families, my parents and Ryan's parents. There were 13 of us total, and Nora was the big hit. The next time I have that many people around her, I'm going to get an egg timer so that no one feels cheated out of time holding her :) She was passed from person to person throughout the afternoon and evening and slept through most of it. My sister-in-law Lara won baby roullette and got to give Nora her bottle which meant I got to have a lovely glass of wine! Glorious!

The family left around 9:15, and after feeding Nora, we all went to bed. Despite having snoozed the afternoon away, Nora had a great night. She woke every couple of hours to nurse, but then went right back to sleep until about 5 a.m. Then, she decided it was time for her morning exercises. She kicked and wiggled around, but was never fussy. Everyonce in awhile, she'd whine a bit for her pacifier which kept me awake, but as soon as I gave it to her, she was fine. She really is a sweet girl.

I had to take her to the doctor on Tuesday as she was fussing a lot while eating and spitting up like crazy. The doctor thinks she may have a bit of acid reflux, so we are trialing some medicine to see if it helps. So far, I think it is working. She hasn't spit up as much and for the most part is a lot calmer when she eats. Today's been a bit off, but I think she's still adjusting from all of yesterday's excitement.

She'll have more excitement next week when she goes with cousin Holly to pick out her Christmas present. We gave Holly a "Build a Bear" gift certificate and have asked her to help Nora pick out her first ever teddy bear. Holly is pretty excited, and we confirmed our Wednesday play date today.

Ryan's parents are staying with us until Friday or Saturday, and it was so nice that they were able to help us clean up the house this morning. Everything is back in order, and now everyone, including Nora, is lounging in front of the TV. Ryan and I have both noted that it is wierd not to hold our little girl as much as we are used to when we have other people around. I think we miss her!

Finally, per Jane's suggestion, I will note a few milestones of Nora's development for the official record:

Head control: She's been lifting her head and holding it pretty steady (30 - 60 seconds) since about two weeks. Her neck seems to be getting stronger every day!

Smiling: While my mother insists it is on purpose, I think it is still just coincidence. However, each morning, when she wakes up for the day, Nora's typically in a good mood and will flash a few gummy grins. They are pretty darn cute!

Rolling to her side: Nora's a good mover in general. I put her in the top left side of her bassinet, and she always manages to wiggle her way down to the bottom right hand corner within 20 - 30 minutes. She can also roll on to her side, though she can't pull her arm around yet. She likes to sleep on her side like her mom and dad (and yes, we checked with the doctor and he says this is okay!)

Anyhow, I hope everyone is enjoying Christmas! Only a few more days left in 2008 - I hope that they are happy!

3:44 p.m. - December 25, 2008

|

previous - next











latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

Journals I Read:

Plain-Jane

(not so) Evil Clomid

Colleen's Musings

Allison

Google Groups
Enter your email address to be notified of new entries:
Email:
Visit this group