-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Ring Woes and Other Crap

For the life of me, I can't complete a task today. Not one single task. I've started about 22 tasks, completed zero. Suuuuck. Hold on.... I will complete one...Okay, I just initiated the booking of a limo for our wedding day. I have the quote and confirmed with The Boy that we do not want the "Just Married" sign on the back of the car, however we would like red carpet service. Because we're picky like that. Woo! I actually used a work connection to negotiate my first and probably only deal of this whole wedding. I take that back, my wedding shoes were only $8 on the clearance rack, so that rocked. Of course when I tried them on again recently, they felt like $8 shoes, so they may have to be tossed. Originally, they should've been $60 shoes, but who knows. This from the girl who willing pays $30 for flip flops. Only I found the flip flops I ordered for Jane and myself on sale for $16 so there. Another deal. My heart races!

Am I rambling? I think I'm rambling. My mind is running at about a million thoughts per second. The saga of The Boy's wedding ring continues. I typed that then started three new tasks. The saga of The Boy's wedding ring is that he is a picky little fuck. On one hand, I love that about him, on the other it is a pain in my ass. After months of dragging him into jewelry stores and forcing him to look at wedding rings, he finally stated that he should just design his own ring. He's an architect, you see, and mass marketers do not understand architects. One would think that architects would be interested in gifts pertaining to architecture, however he has stated that if he gets one more Frank Gehry coffee table book, he'll freak. It could just be that he actually has to compete with the likes of Frank Gehry in his day to day job, but whatever. I'm rambling - smack me. So the ring - he wants to design it. But he doesn't know what design he's looking for or what elements he wants to include. Greeeeat. 6 weeks people. He's insane!

So I got online and searched "Fabulously Unique Wedding Rings for Picky Architects" and found a few sites that had some styles I thought he'd like. I was right. He loved one of them and deemed it "his ring." Perfect. Except for the fact that this particular designer is only in about 6 select stores in the US. And none of those six stores have his ring in his size. I called them all. They just don't. Finally, I connect with a particularly helpful store in Scottsdale, AZ. For all I know, I'm talking to a homeless guy who lives under a Joshua Tree, but he's helpful. He says he can get the ring to me by November 6th. And the children rejoice. I arrange to pay the man and ask him to send me an invoice. Which he does. Only he specifies the wrong type of metal and not enough flair in my invoice. So I call - and we surf together to the website on which I found the ring and confirm we're talking about the same damn ring. We are. Great. So he calls his sources to confirm they have my order for the same damn ring. Oh, you wanted THAT ring.... well, we have it, but it is 1/4 size too big. And it can't be resized due to the design of the ring. Greeeeat.

So now I've instructed The Boy to leave his work hovel and travel to the nearest fancy jeweler and confirm his ring size. If we have to have his ring manufactured by the fancy ring designer, it won't be here for two months, and whatever he orders is what he gets because it can't be resized. Lovely. He confirmed that he absolutely had to have that ring and was okay with using a stand-in ring at the ceremony. I'm tempted to find that ring they used on Four Weddings and a Funeral, although I think my priest would pass out.

In other news, Taerna continues her long history of ROCKING by recently designing a spreadsheet that details by the quarter hour the events of my wedding day. Of course I micromanaged the hell out of it because I was jealous of her mad spreadsheeting skillz and what not. I had started a spreadsheet but it was lame and didn't have borders or colors or anything clarifying and cool like that. Anyhow, the schedule says I now have an appointment to get my hair done, so that's awesome. Yay!!! Woo!! Yee haw... and now onto figuring out what in the hell to do with my hair. Here's a pic. I welcome your suggestions:

I've been growing it out so that I can donate it to Locks of Love. I so can't wait to chop all of it off and put it in a baggie!!! Of course I've neglected it over the past few months, so some poor kid is going to get a wig with nasty split ends, but its the best that I can do. I watched Taerna lovingly donate her platelets on the trip to Memphis (and when I left to "use the bathroom" it was really to stabilize myself 'cause I thought I was going to pass out) and that's wonderful and all, but I just can't hack it. If it weren't for my large, over-photographed ASS, I'd probably be under the weight limit to donate blood, but alas, I have no excuse. Anyhow, my hair is long, my forehead bare, and my teeth large and I have no idea how to style my hair on my wedding day because Paco made sure I was a tomboy. So the hair trial on Monday should be fun.

4:17 p.m. - September 28, 2004

|

previous - next











latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

Journals I Read:

Plain-Jane

(not so) Evil Clomid

Colleen's Musings

Allison

Google Groups
Enter your email address to be notified of new entries:
Email:
Visit this group