-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

So Much to Do...

There is absolutely positively no way in hell that I am going to get everything done for work that needs to be done prior to my departure for my wedding/honeymoon. Even if I had all week, I wouldn't get it done. I'm not one of those people who likes to leave work undone, but I basically have no choice. So we'll see how that goes. Funny thing is, I'm really not that stressed about it. I've worked 50 to 60 hour weeks for the better part of the yea, so this time off is certainly well-deserved. I just hate the idea of having to prioritize a bunch of shit that all should be done but can't be done. So my solution is to type a journal entry. Smaaarrrrt.

The worst part about having so much to do in so little time is that normally, this kind of situation is when I am at my best. I am a hella-multi-tasker and actually improved my GPA in college to the point of being on the honor roll by adding a full-time job to the mix of being a full-time college student and/or heavy socializer. I've maintained that ability to get shit done with a high level of quality on a manically short time frame until exactly 9 days ago. All of a sudden, every multi-tasking high pressure thriving neuron in my brain went on vacation deep within my hypothalamus.

Example: I was sitting on my living room floor writing a Thank You note to Jane.  As you may know, she is the official ombudsman for our wedding on Saturday. That Jane volunteered for this task and is 100% the most valuable player when it comes to keeping things rolling on Saturday is something that impresses me to no end and humbles me with gratitude. She knows its a shit job to be the one to have to yell at a vendor or slap a bridesmaid up side the head should she step with the wrong foot, but she's taken on the task graciously and for that we are so very thankful. Nicely written, huh? Well, I really can't tell you what ended up on her card, because as all of these thoughts flowed through my head and prepared to be transcribed onto her little silver "Thank You" card, someone asked me a question. Imagine if you will, reorganizing the words I just typed above and just think what could have been written down. I think it may have gone a little something like this:

Jane,

You have a shitty job to do on Saturday, and you will be humbled greatly by it. I can't imagine that you will be able to do it graciously. We are very thankful that you will be there to slap around bridesmaids and yell at vendors because you'll do a good job of that. We don't know why you would volunteer to be a part of our wedding, but it has worked out great for us. Thanks.

Love,

Jen and The Boy

The Thank You I wrote to Taerna gets even better. I don't want to give too much away, but I think in her note, I attribute the fact that I'm still employed to her. Seriously people. The mixture of stress, a Z-pack, a high powered decongestant and one too many Diet Cokes can be a very dangerous thing. Also, I think The Boy was playing Guided By Voices in the background and I was getting really annoyed. I still hate that band.

In other wedding news, the weather situation is looking better. Here's the forecast today. We've gone from a DARK BLACK CLOUD forecasted on Friday to the most perfect day one could ever imagine forecasted today. I'm not holding my breath. This is the Midwest. The weather people have actually started using the BlairWitch Project shaky camera effect in their 15 second promos to scare people into watching their weather forecasts on the 10 o' clock news. You think I'm kidding? Seriously - Gary Sleezak does it all the time and I want to punch him in the face for it.

10:53 a.m. - November 01, 2004

|

previous - next











latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

Journals I Read:

Plain-Jane

(not so) Evil Clomid

Colleen's Musings

Allison

Google Groups
Enter your email address to be notified of new entries:
Email:
Visit this group