-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Mina vs. Avril

Did the lady who just answers the phone at my insurance company just say �ballsing you around?� I really think she did. I finally returned the annoyingly high-pitched and sing-songy voice mails of Mina at Ryan�s insurance company to get the quote on my house. All in all, his company looks like a good option, but I still need to review my company. So I called to start the quote process, and the woman who answered the phone, we�ll call her �Avril� for her punky �you�re not the boss of me� attitude, informed me that they�d need a copy of my marriage certificate and that they wouldn�t be able to give me an accurate quote on my husband�s insurance until I provided them with all of his personal information. She said she�d need all of that information so she wouldn�t be �ballsing me around� by giving me a quote based on assumptions that would then later be higher based on his real information. I about choked on a fruit snack when she said that. I�m really not sure what it means to be �ballsed� around, but it didn�t sound very pleasant. This leaves me in quite the conundrum. With Ryan�s company, we�d get Mina and her goddamn overly pleasant fingers on a chalkboard rapport. With my company, we�d get Avril and her seemingly irresponsible �sorry I spilled a Red Bull and Jager on your auto claim� way of doing business. Wow. What choices.

Speaking of choices, I just chose not to recognize the week-long illness of my co-worker who asked that her admin douse her office in antibacterial spray. I had heard her talking to the admin and she kept repeating a word, each time her voice growing weaker and weaker until the last time the word squeaked out with a gravelly phlegmmy ending. Dramatic, eh? As I typed this, she called my �intercom� line, waited for me to speak and then coughed at me through my speaker phone. Knowing that she is the type who wants everyone to know when she�s sick, I am boycotting the asking of any questions about her well-being. And yes, I will feel bad when she becomes the first confirmed case of the Asian Bird Flu, but dammit, this person cries wolf all the damn time. The �Fumigation of 2005� was the straw that broke this camel�s back. I ain�t havin� it.

I didn�t really accomplish that much this past weekend. I did a lot of laundry and cooked a righteous lunch for my dad and Ryan on Sunday. Saturday night was Ryan�s company�s non-holiday party. It was decently enjoyable, but it sure took the wind out of me for Sunday. We ended up at one of his friend�s houses for a lovely Super Bowl gathering. I honestly could care less about the game, but his friend�s wife made a delicious pumpkin bisque. Super yummy. I think I was at the only Super Bowl party in America where the drink of choice was a stiff martini. I had a couple of Blue Moon�s with an orange slice floating in it. Fabulous! A new favorite beer cocktail!

10:12 a.m. - February 07, 2005

|

previous - next











latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

Journals I Read:

Plain-Jane

(not so) Evil Clomid

Colleen's Musings

Allison

Google Groups
Enter your email address to be notified of new entries:
Email:
Visit this group