-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Ski Skool

That was probably the most productive 26 seconds I�ve spent at work in days. On my old computer, I�d once taken the time to figure out how to change the default page and font settings for Word. I hadn�t done that since I�d gotten the new machine, so every time I started a new document, I spent time fiddling around getting things just so. Well not anymore! My defaults are back in place, and Times New Roman is forever banished from my documentation. Whee!

Planning for the ski trip forges on. It is really nice to hear repeatedly how I will absolutely hate my first ski trip � especially as I am informed by Ryan that the prices are higher because we are going during spring break. I just can�t wait to spend more money than we would normally have to go on a trip focused on an activity that I will most likely hate. I do intend to take classes from a professional vs. friend or spouse as has been advised. My knowledge of skiing is mostly confined to classic films such as Ski School, Ski Patrol and not to be forgotten, Better Off Dead. Based on those films, I believe that crash landings always end with someone�s face in someone else�s crotch, that the truly talented ski instructors won�t be the ones hired by the resort, but the underdog crew who lives in a party house just up the street, and that if something gets in my way, turn.

So far, we have no big plans for the weekend ahead. I do have an urge to go bowling again, and plan to try and convince Jane and Paco to bring the kiddies up for some bumper bowling. The nearby lanes installed a system that allows the bumpers to go up and down based on each bowler. Pretty cool stuff. I�m sure that it could keep Elliot and Holly�s attention for at least 4.5 frames.

Other weekend plans will hopefully include the selection of flooring for what will soon be the master bedroom and two bathrooms. Oh how I long to complete the second floor renovation of the house, but oh how I dread selecting building materials with Ryan!!! After looking at every store in Kansas City, scouring the internet and reviewing every lighting catalog on the shelf at his architecture firm, he still hasn�t been able to select a G.D. light fixture for the master bathroom. I have no earthly clue what is holding him back from making the selection other than the statement, �I just need to know what else is out there.� I�m imagining our trip to the numerous flooring stores in the area, and I feel a bit queasy. We haven�t even fully convinced ourselves that carpet is the way to go in the bedrooms. The floors are oak hardwood, and two out of three could be restored, however the flooring in the master bedroom couldn�t. So a blanket statement was made that we�d do carpet. But then Ryan hedged on that just enough to let me know that the decision to carpet was nowhere near final. Okay fine. We refinish the hardwoods and then buy area rugs. No wait! We can put laminate flooring in the master bedroom. Nah, we should just do carpet. Should we extend the tile from the bathrooms into the bedroom by the door to the back deck? Oh holy hell � now that I�ve realized this task is on the list for this weekend, a feel a strong urge to drink heavily. And did I mention that he still hasn�t selected the light fixture for the master bathroom??? ARRGGGHHHHHHH!!!

1:22 p.m. - February 11, 2005

|

previous - next











latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

Journals I Read:

Plain-Jane

(not so) Evil Clomid

Colleen's Musings

Allison

Google Groups
Enter your email address to be notified of new entries:
Email:
Visit this group