-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Ten Bucks Says This Entry is Lame

Saturday morning, I called Paco and Jane to see if they would go bowling with Ryan and me. Paco informed me that they would be interested, however it would be awhile before they could leave Lawrence because they had to do laundry. As he put it, they had absolutely no clean clothes in the entire house � at all � whatsoever � none. Something about the way he said it made me think of a story Ryan told me earlier in the week.

Ryan had gone to an Autocad training course and during a break, he got to chatting with a few of the other students. I�m not really sure how the conversation got to this, but I think it had something to do with new marriages, division of duties, etc. Anyhow, he was complaining because I had washed all the laundry in the house but hadn�t put it away. Correction, he and my father had destroyed my closet and rearranged my dresser so I couldn�t physically put the clean clothes away. Anyhow, he must have been going on and on about it, bitching and moaning because there were piles of clean clothes lying around that eventually become dirty due to the cat napping on them, dust gathering, etc. At one point, one of the women he was talking with interrupted him with, �Wait � you mean you think it is your wife�s job to do all of the laundry? Maybe you should help out by putting some of it away!� Amen sister! Ryan stutter stepped his way to explaining that we both did lots of things around the house, he isn�t a Promise Keeper or anything like that, yada yada yada, but then, to his horror, he realized one of the other women that had been involved in the conversation had gotten up and left, most likely with the impression that he is a Grade A asshole! He admitted, in retrospect, that his commentary probably did sound pretty much like �the wife cooks and cleans, and I make sure she has a roof over her head.� Yeah. Sure. That�s how it works. Anyhow, I�m sure Paco ain�t disrespecting Jane, but it did remind me of that story.

We did end up bowling, which was a fun way to spend a rainy Saturday afternoon. I think Holly and Elliot both managed to beat me as I am a pathetic bowler. I�d say they had the bumpers to their advantage, but as it turns out, so did I. After bowling, Ryan and I ran a few errands then went home to watch Shrek II and Ray. The Puss in Boots scene. Can�t type. Laughing too hard. I think I may have peed a little watching that scene.

So today was the deadline for the �Ten Bucks Says I Love You More� challenge, and I�ve already learned that Ryan�s original plans fell through. As an architect, he has access to extra large plotters which can print out gigantic, bigger than life images. He had convinced the courier his company uses to drive to my company and hang an extra-large image of Ryan on the wall in my office all for $10. Only the plotter was down, so his plans fell through. I can only imagine what image he�d chosen. That would�ve been hard to beat.

For my entry into the challenge, I plan to stop at Arby�s on the way home and pick up one of Ryan�s favorite fast food meals ever. The 5 roast beef sandwiches for $5.55. I will decorate the sandwiches with hearts drawn with Arby�s Sauce and Horsey Sauce, and light enough candles to set off a smoke detector. My Barry White cd is already cued up. I�d thought about outfitting Eli in a little red vest and having him serve as our garcon, but the last time we put anything on Eli, he hissed and growled for two days straight. He�s not so much into costumes. I�ll try to remember to take pictures of the setup.

That�s all I�ve got for today. I could bitch about work, but I�m sure y�all are getting sick of hearing about my dislike of Ill Jill. Plus, she brought cookies today, and I ate one of them, so I really can�t be badmouthing her. I�ll leave you with a picture of Holly perfecting her roll.

4:46 p.m. - February 14, 2005

|

previous - next











latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

Journals I Read:

Plain-Jane

(not so) Evil Clomid

Colleen's Musings

Allison

Google Groups
Enter your email address to be notified of new entries:
Email:
Visit this group