-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I Want to Think of Stuff...

What a long day this has been. I keep looking at the clock and hoping it is over, but then noooooo! One hour and 18 minutes more it says! Dammit! I have been quite busy throughout the day which usually makes time fly, but not today. I suppose I could keep bitching about the time, but it really isn�t that interesting, so I guess I�ll just move on.

I had my review at work yesterday, and glory glory, I get to keep my job. I never really suspected that I was in danger of losing my job. Hell, if I left, Ill Jill might actually have to lift a finger and do some of her own damn work, and we wouldn�t want that now would we. At one point during my review, we were discussing my progress, where I was now, where I wanted to go and all that good stuff. Now I like my job, but a small portion of it involves negotiating contracts, and while I lurve to get a good deal on useless crap on the clearance rack at Target, doing that day in and day out isn�t my idea of the world�s greatest job. Of course negotiation is the focus of my entire division in the company, so one has to tread the ground of nay-saying negotiation lightly. I have to pretend to love it like a groupie loves her GNR and want to have crazy rock star sex with it all the time. But I think I�m better at doing other tasks � or at least I enjoy other tasks more. So anyhow, somehow we get on the topic of �what do you want to be when you grow up� and my boss asks me, �What is it you really want to do?�

There are so many ways to respond to that question. One might take a second, compose an answer that pleases the corporate types and respond confidently and assuredly that they want to do whatever it is that makes the business tick. I could�ve gone the humorous route and replied with the stale joke that I want to get paid to watch Oprah in my PJs while combing the mats out of Eli�s underbelly. I could have gone the pompous route and replied that in five years I expected to have my boss�s job. But oh no. None of that came out of my mouth. Instead I replied�

�I want to think of stuff and then make it happen.�

Thank god they�d already signed the paperwork on my review and compensation package for the year. (Hee, hee, I said package). What a genius comment. I can think of a million better ways to express that same sentiment that would probably inspire my boss to craft my position so that I could do just that. But no. I want to think of stuff and then make it happen. Suuuuuper Genius. I�m sure the Bobs are clamoring over themselves to give me a raise now. Booya.

I went to the grocery store last night because Ryan indicated he would be working late, and I already knew that we had very little food in the house. I realized that after spending $150 on groceries, a full third of that money was spent on beverages � soda, juice, milk and three bottles of wine. That�s the beauty of grocery shopping on the Missouri side � liquor and bread all in one convenient location. I normally wouldn�t impulse buy wine at the grocery store, but they were playing a Bee Gees song, and I just felt pulled towards the liquor section. I couldn�t stop myself. Yummy stuff though. I�m usually not a big fan of whites, but I found a mighty tasty Chardonnay that has my attention. Anyhow, I don�t really know where I was going with that other than I spend a lot of money on quenching my thirst.

Oh, and for an update on the MBA stuff, check out today's entry titled something about marbles Taerna's site where I try to convince her to convince me to take the GMAT. I cuss a lot on IM. A lot.

4:38 p.m. - February 16, 2005

|

previous - next











latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

Journals I Read:

Plain-Jane

(not so) Evil Clomid

Colleen's Musings

Allison

Google Groups
Enter your email address to be notified of new entries:
Email:
Visit this group