-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Sugar Pie Honey Sweetheart

Ryan gathered up a few names and phone numbers of people his co-workers had used to refinish hardwood floors or to mud and tape drywall and emailed it to me just as I requested. I was about to pick up the phone and call one of the first people on the list when a big dry chunk of dread got lodged in my throat. I took a deep breath and dialed the area code then put the phone down. I looked at the list again, took another deep breath and then filed the email into another folder.

Years of dealing with mechanics and muffler repair shops and plumbers and apartment handymen had finally built a nice little mental block on my ability to effectively deal with skilled laborers. I am not an idiot. I know the difference between a rotor and a brake pad. I understand that the serpentine belt efficiently connects many parts of the engine together via a series of pulleys and is therefore an important checkpoint on the 30 point inspection but that it does not need to be replaced each time I get my oil changed. I know that home repair isn�t always an exacting science and that there are easy ways to do things and the right way to do things. I know that I don�t know everything, but what I do know for 100% certain is that regardless of how much I know or don�t know, many people will assume I don�t know anything and may try to talk me in circles, overcharge me and call me sweetheart, sugar or some other glucose or sucrose laden moniker during the entire excruciating process. The thought of it makes me shudder. Ick.

With all of this running through my mind, I reopened the email, hit the reply button and asked my dear Ryan to call and set up appointments to interview the drywallers and refinishers. I know he�s probably screaming �What the hell?� at his computer screen about now, especially as I had volunteered to do this very task, but bleh. If he really sucks at it, maybe I�ll try to overcome my dread of being a woman asking for services in a man�s world, but until then, I�ll sit back and perpetuate the stereotypes. Get on it. Woo!

5:02 p.m. - February 17, 2005

|

previous - next











latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

Journals I Read:

Plain-Jane

(not so) Evil Clomid

Colleen's Musings

Allison

Google Groups
Enter your email address to be notified of new entries:
Email:
Visit this group