-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

What to do when you witness an accident?

Ha! I bet y'all thought I was going to skip today, right? Nope! I just got stuck in meetings ALL.DAY.LONG!!! I don't really think I accomplished much other today than smiling pleasantly and nodding as people said stuff. I hate meetings.

I have to leave in 16 minutes as I have committed to being home to work on the house each night versus slaving away in my office until after dark as I'm sometimes prone to doing. It has been nice seeing daylight and all. Too bad my hours out of the office have been filled with the hell that is remodeling. My hands are perpetually covered with paint splotches despite hours of scrubbing. Oh to be free of manual labor!

Yesterday, I had to leave the office earlier than planned to meet the racist sheetrockers who had finished their work an hour earlier than scheduled and who wanted to be paid so they could get home and crack open a six pack. On my way home, I watched a giant furniture moving truck slam into the car directly behind me as the truck switched lanes blindly. There was a car turning left in the truck's lane, and I think the truck saw me and let me pass but didn't see the car behind me. The street was quite busy and there was nowhere for me to stop and turn around. I really hope everyone is okay, and well - did I break the law? I mean I witnessed the accident in a way through my rearview mirror as I heard the tires squealing and horns honking and saw the truck plow into the side of the car forcing it off the road and up onto the sidewalk. I'm sure other cars hit the back of the truck and car as the accident happened, though if there was any sort of pile up, it wasn't big enough to make the news. I honestly didn't know what to do. I thought to turn around, but I didn't know if returning to the accident would just further clog up traffic. I knew for sure that if there was a medical emergency, I'd probably pass out before I could be of assistance. What are you supposed to do when something like that happens? In the end, I called 911 and they already had a report of the accident, and indicated that help was on the way. Anyhow, I really hope the people involved were okay.

Anyhow, after I got home, we continued working on the phucking house and did so until 11:48 pm despite the temptation to watch Nanny 911 and other Monday night entertainment. Oh to be able to watch tv again! I can't wait!

5:12 p.m. - May 10, 2005

|

previous - next











latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

Journals I Read:

Plain-Jane

(not so) Evil Clomid

Colleen's Musings

Allison

Google Groups
Enter your email address to be notified of new entries:
Email:
Visit this group