-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

We're getting TV!

So I can tell you guys this because I know Ryan doesn't read my journal. I KNOW! My own husband doesn't read my journal! Crazy! Anyhow, his lack of interest in my daily musings is the only thing that will help me to keep a surprise for the next 24 hours. I'm really REALLY bad at keeping surprises. So his birthday is on Saturday, and of course he hasn't specified what he wants. I already bought him a new bottle of cologne, and I gave it to him (see above: can't keep surprises). So I was thinking really hard - what should I get him for his real present. Then it came to me when my brother said we couldn't be at his new house at a specific time because the high speed internet guy would be there. Mind you they take possession on Friday, but they'll have high speed internet access by Saturday. Addicted much? Anyhow, I'm all over the place today. The point is that since I bought my house 3.5 years ago, I haven't had any form of television other than crappy antenna. And honestly, I haven't missed it that much. However, every once in awhile, one of us, usually Ryan, makes a comment about something someone else saw on TV. And then we spend a few hours lamenting the shitty standard programming, our crappy antenna and our lack of high speed internet access. Usually, I sum up the conversation with an ultimatum � either call the cable company or stop your bitchin�. Well, the bitching hasn�t stopped and recently was on the rise. And then Paco mentioned his appointment with the high speed internet access guy and voilla! A birthday present idea entered my dense skull. I will get Ryan cable for his birthday. Whee!

You might think it is a bit selfish to get someone a gift you know you�ll use equally, but he bought me art for my birthday and we both get to enjoy that equally, so I�ve been able to justify it all. Also, I�m not technically getting cable. As I am related by blood to the super-users in the �extended television programming� product category, I went with their recommendation and called on of the dish companies. Wait � I lied. Prior to calling the dish company I called Paco. I knew he wouldn�t be able to stop himself. Within minutes, he�d researched the best deal available and had reserved the perfect receiver box for me. I had instructions to call Shayla and she�d have my system installed tomorrow. TOMORROW!!!! I hate to admit it, what with 28 years of sibling rivalry under my belt, but today, Paco RULED.

So as of tomorrow, I will no longer be forced to watch whatever reality TV programming that the major networks see fit for me to consume. Over the past three and a half years, I have been one of the few faithful viewers to shows that bombed with other viewers. Joe Millionaire and Average Joe � I watched them both and even watched the ill-constructed second attempt at Joe Millionaire. Those European chicks hated that cowboy. I somehow happened upon the first episode EVER of America�s Next Top Model, and cheered Adrian through to winning the first season and cried with Shandi when she realized she shouldn�t have gotten it on with that Italian guy in the second season. The Biggest Loser, The Swan, The Benefactor, The Family � we watched them all. Shit, I can�t even remember the names of some of the shows I watched religiously. I hated Toni on The Love Cruise and hated her even more on Paradise Hotel. Somehow, Temptation Island was a little too cheesy for me � can�t explain it.

Oh yeah � this is Ryan�s birthday present. He�ll be happy, too. Like I said, I was pretty content with the crappy TV we had going for us � he was the one wanting more. If nothing else, he�ll be pleased that he no longer has to get up to adjust the antenna to pick up the channel we are watching. That, in and of itself is worth quite the chunk of change.

Okay � I gotta go. More tomorrow!

5:02 p.m. - May 26, 2005

|

previous - next











latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

Journals I Read:

Plain-Jane

(not so) Evil Clomid

Colleen's Musings

Allison

Google Groups
Enter your email address to be notified of new entries:
Email:
Visit this group