-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Telemarketers Still Suck

Get this � a telemarketer just hung up on me! And, they called back!! That takes some balls! Now before you get too excited, I didn�t offend them or say anything nasty that made them hang up on me. His official excuse was that the phone system blinked and he got cut off. Little does he know that I used to conduct phone surveys back in the day, and I accidentally hung up on a few people myself. Typically, it involved trying to anticipate when they may hang up on me � I would have my finger posed over the hang up button so that I could dial the next poor soul. Sometimes, it would slip and I would cut the person off before they had a chance to cut me off. Other times, I would find myself reclined in my chair, reciting the open lines of the script, explaining that I was not trying to sell anything, I was merely conducting research on behalf of the University, blah blah blah. I would lean back a little too far and the headset cord would snap out of the base unit. Sometimes, I wasn�t quick enough in the reconnect, so I would simply hang up. I can tell you this � never, ever did I bother to call back. I had no balls.

Do you remember the days when everyone used to tell crazy telemarketing stories? So many stories of people telling off a telemarketer that had the nerve to interrupt them during dinner or trying to sell them something useless or the time they got the telemarketer with a crafty little joke or a comeback? Thank God those days are gone. I love you Missouri No Call list.

4:46 p.m. - September 21, 2005

|

previous - next











latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

Journals I Read:

Plain-Jane

(not so) Evil Clomid

Colleen's Musings

Allison

Google Groups
Enter your email address to be notified of new entries:
Email:
Visit this group