-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Bob Loblaw - Too Damn Funny

I am so frustrated right now I could spit. I can�t really go into details as to why I am frustrated (read: the details of my frustration are directly related to my paycheck). But dammit! Frustration!

I think the frustration and the inability to talk about the cause of the frustration is why I haven�t been updating as much. Anything I want to talk about is taboo on a public internet site. I could tell you funny stories about Ryan burning 11 taco shells and boiling refried beans in the process of trying to make dinner last night. It is funny stuff, but as I start to type up those stories, I start to want to rant and rage about the topics that really weigh on my mind and it just isn�t funny any more.

Here � here is something that is making me laugh regardless of how frustrated and/or distracted I get. I mentioned a few days ago that I am a huge fan of Arrested Development, a hilariously funny TV show on Fox that is on hiatus until baseball season ends. And hello � it is mid-October � why are we still playing baseball? I thought baseball players were the boys of summer, and clearly, by the turning of the leaves it is now fall. Enough with the bats and bases already. Okay, I�m really just miffed that both Arrested Development and the O.C. aren�t being shown due to baseball, but anyhow, back to something that makes me laugh really fucking hard. Like wrinkle your nose and show your gum lines snickering types of laughs. On Arrested Development, they�ve hired a new family lawyer played by Scott Bayo. They found their lawyer via one of those traditional television ads with the lawyer sitting in front of a bookshelf stating his name and then asking the typical tv lawyer commercial questions. Scott Bayo opens his commercial by saying, �Hello. I�m Bob Loblaw.�

If you aren�t laughing, read his sentence aloud.

Still not laughing? Say it faster or more than one time. Bob Loblaw. Bob Loblaw. Bob Loblaw.

Ryan really is a bit freaked out by how funny I think that name is. I figure that I am so totally amused by this name because it has been so long since I�ve heard a truly original joke that I am certain will be used in countless ways for years to come. Kinda like the law offices of Dewey Skrewum and Howe. Original at one point, overused today, but funny in its original ingenuity.

Bob Loblaw. Now that�s a funny name.

In other news, I know that is fall not only because baseball will not fucking end, but because Eli has determined that it is too cold for him to sleep on the floor in living room while we watch TV. Instead, he is temporarily acting like a real cat and will sometimes sit on our laps. He is NOT a lap cat. This temporary act he is putting on is quite pleasing, but as one transitions from a snooty cat who likes to lounge just within site of you to a cat who perches upon your lap ready to leap off of you at a moment�s notice, it takes some getting used to. I have found myself holding still to the point of losing feeling in a leg just to please him. Soon, he will grow in his winter coat and will again wish to have nothing to do with Ryan or me unless we are feeding him or cleaning his shit box, so I must cling to these moments � sharp shooting prickly pain and all. The cat is also satisfied that we have purchased brand new linens for the guest room and once again has claimed that room as his own.

Remodeling efforts continue, and I should turn my attention to them now. We are attempting to give our house a facelift prior to the first frost. Yeah � right!

5:56 p.m. - October 11, 2005

|

previous - next











latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

Journals I Read:

Plain-Jane

(not so) Evil Clomid

Colleen's Musings

Allison

Google Groups
Enter your email address to be notified of new entries:
Email:
Visit this group