-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Om

Well I got my yoga and pilates videos last night, and after catching up on a few shows that I missed while traveling last week, I put in the yoga video and prepared to working on my well-being. Om. I was too lazy to go to the basement to find my exercise mat which may or may not have been sold in a summer garage sale, so I spread out a lovely furry tiger face blanket on the hardwood floor in front of the TV and prepared to connect with my inner-self. Only the cat was in the house, and a blanket spread out on the floor was a new and exciting thing. It is really hard to breathe steadily and �relax your eyes� when a 14 pound cat is crouched just inches away from you with a look in his eye wilder than the tiger on the furry blanket.

After a few minutes, I paused the DVD and decided that Eli needed some alone time outside. He didn�t agree, so I had to chase him out from under the desk. This, too, was a fun new game that I believe he could have played for hours. I finally succeeded in getting him outside and went back to my first ever yoga session.

Things were going pretty well until I realized that Eli was now watching me from outside via the picture window, and if he could see me attempting downward facing dog, so could all of my neighbors. I paused the DVD again and shut the blinds. About halfway through the routine, I finally was able to clear my mind and was focusing in on the different positions. I was doing pretty well save that I am totally not flexible and that my muscles trembled with fear at every position I had to hold for more than 5 seconds. Nonetheless, I forged on and slowly began to understand the instructions without having to look at the screen every two seconds. Not knowing my right from my left made things a bit more challenging, but I figured it out for the most part. I think I was actually getting all zen like and everything until the instructor voice decided to expand a bit on the usefulness of one particular pose. In the pose, let�s call it Ostrich, your ass is sticking in the air, legs spread wide, and your head is touching the ground. The instructor chick indicated that this pose was particularly good for �rejuvenating your brain.� Now that may be true, but come on � rejuvenating my brain? For whatever reason, saying that phrase distracted me and all of a sudden I was no longer zen like. In fact, I�m concerned that I will be distracted by that phrase every time I do the video. I�ll find myself thinking of the sequence and anticipating the Ostrich and then giggling because somehow, sticking my ass in the air and my head on the ground rejuvenates my brain. Om.

Anyhow, I apologize that this entry and surely others to come are so short. Most of what is going on that is causing my stress is work related, and I prefer not to drag that into a public forum. Fear not � school starts in a month, and I�m sure I�ll have plenty to say about that.

5:11 p.m. - December 14, 2005

|

previous - next











latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

Journals I Read:

Plain-Jane

(not so) Evil Clomid

Colleen's Musings

Allison

Google Groups
Enter your email address to be notified of new entries:
Email:
Visit this group