-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

MyPod2

So I don�t know if I mentioned it, but Ryan gave me an iPod for Christmas � another one. I am hoping to be much more responsible with this iPod so that I don�t lose track of it like I did MyPod. The introduction of MyPod2 means that I am listening to music again versus constantly listening to NPR. It also means that I quickly grew sick of the 200 songs I had stored on my computer necessitating the introduction of a few of my CDs. I grabbed a few off of the shelf this morning, and it really is a curious mix:

1) Billy Bragg and Wilco � Mermaid Avenue (For whatever reason, the song �California Stars� makes me want to flirt with boys

2) Ben Folds Five � Whatever and Ever Amen (I am one angry dwarf.)

3) Air � Talkie Walkie (Listening to this CD is kind of like what the brain experiences when you are talking and you find yourself trailing off and staring into space in a happy, warm, calm little space)

4) Garbage � Version 2.0 (An excellent CD for analyzing data � inspires concentration)

5) Bobby Brown � Don�t Be Cruel (Oh you know you are jealous. I�d like to take credit for having this CD in my CD collection, but it was a contribution from Ryan�s collection. Most of the songs on this CD are loaded onto my �Bounce� playlist.)

Speaking of playlists, I started a few yesterday. The playlists include the following:

Bounce � This could also be called �Guilty Pleasures� as it includes all those catchy little pop songs that infect your brain. Think Gwen Stefani, Brittney Spears, Bobby Brown, etc. Current favorite on the Bounce list is �Hey Ya� by Outcast. I didn�t listen to radio when this song was released, so I am still not sick of it. Which reminds me, I need to bring in my Alanis Morrissette �Jagged Little Pill� cd. I don�t care how much they overplayed it, that is still an excellent album.

DriveTime � These are songs that are good for driving, duh. Many fall into the sing along/rock out category. Pretty much any song by Journey goes here. Current favorite is �Happy Jack� by The Who. Certain Hip/Hop or Rap songs will find their way into this category. Speaking of, on tomorrow�s list will be my Ol Dirty Bastard CD.

Sunshine Award - Taerna will know the true meaning of the Sunshine Award title, but for the purposes of my playlist, it basically refers to any song I associate with a sunny day. I know this sounds cheesy, but there are certain songs that are meant to be heard when the sun is out and the windows are down. Current recipients of the Sunshine Award include �Instant Pleasure� by Rufus Wainwright and �Spring Released� by Grant Lee Phillips.

Zone � There are a few CDs and songs out there that help me focus better than others. Anything by Air or Garbage, for example. Crystal Method is also good for concentration. I was also able to find some of the runway music from Project Runway, and that is fitting in quite nicely. The perennial favorite on this list is �Ring of Fire� by Johnny Cash. While this song isn�t as trance like as most of the others on the list, for whatever reason, the horns in that song calm my brain. Thank you June and Johnny.

Speaking of June and Johnny, I just read that Barry Gibb and his wife purchased the Cash�s home. It is a crazy little world in which we live.

Alright, I apologize for boring you with an update on updating my iPod. Sadly, it is all that is going on in my world. Hey � at least I updated, right? I suppose if you guys wanted to know about something that was going on in my life, you�d ask about it in the guestbook�

1:18 p.m. - January 05, 2006

|

previous - next











latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

Journals I Read:

Plain-Jane

(not so) Evil Clomid

Colleen's Musings

Allison

Google Groups
Enter your email address to be notified of new entries:
Email:
Visit this group