-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Construction Update

Despite having thrown up the previous three times I've eaten pizza while pregnant, I just ate two pieces for lunch. Real smart, huh?

Last night, Ryan and I started a depressing list of all of the things we need to get done/buy/think about in the coming months. As I mentioned a couple of entries ago, we started a full kitchen remodel in November by destroying the kitchen entirely on Thanksgiving Day. Destruction continued through Christmas, and then we began rebuilding everything. A week ago, we finally installed the countertops and the sink which meant we have a functioning kitchen once again. One of these days, I'll get fancy and post some before and after pictures. It is truely astonishing.

Additionally, we finally finished the bulk of the remodel work on our third floor turning a nasty attic into a living room/office. It is goregous and I love it, except summer is fast approaching and we still haven't installed a dedicated heatpump that will keep the room to a reasonable 80 degrees (it can mimic or exceed the outside temperature as it stands). On the third floor, we still need to finish a bathroom which I forgot to mention is also a project in need of completion on the first floor as part of the kitchen renovation. To top things off, our sewer line is no longer doing its job, so our house literally smells like shit. Fabulous.

Did I mention that the AC on my car also doesn't work? Oh, and we need to stucco the back corner of the exterior of the kitchen. Don't forget that we need to build a deck as well.

There's so much more, but it is overwhelming to write about. I'm sure each and everyone of these projects will create its own drama. This long list of to do's is probably why I don't respond with great enthusiasm and excitement when people ask me how I plan to decorate the baby's room. I tend to respond that I've heard baby's have poor eyesight in their first three months so it probably won't notice if the walls are beige and the decor follows no Pottery Barn Kids approved theme.

12:12 p.m. - May 20, 2008

|

previous - next











latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

Journals I Read:

Plain-Jane

(not so) Evil Clomid

Colleen's Musings

Allison

Google Groups
Enter your email address to be notified of new entries:
Email:
Visit this group