-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Anomoly

My doctor's appointment on Friday was - well - interesting. After chatting with a very nice nurse, the doctor arrived and introduced himself. He was not my normal doc as I opted for the first available appointment. He quickly inspected my leg which was a little hard to do because I still had my pants on and the splotchiness goes all the way up to the back of my thigh. He excused himself and sent in a nurse who handed me a sheet and told me to take off my pants and drape it over my legs. I was trying to figure out how exactly this would all work seeing as the splotchiness is on the back of my leg, but hey - I'm no doctor.

The doctor returned, and I ended up standing up awkwardly with the sheet half draped around me but clearly in the way. Finally, I said, "no need to be modest here" and put the sheet on the table so he could see my whole leg. He asked if I were anemic, and I replied that as of my last blood test, no. He asked if I knew what bit me, and I said I suspected a mosquito. He put a glove on and felt the area to see if it were warm. It was not. He inspected my belly to see if there was the pregnancy linea negra, but alas, there was not. Finally, he asked the nurse to call my OB to see if I could take Claritin. I can.

I asked him what my follow-up would be, and that seemed to throw him off. He said, "Well if it isn't gone by Monday.... you know, I'm just going to refer you to a dermatologist."

I put my pants back on and followed the nurse to the nursing station where she was setting up my dermatologist appointment. The doc returned and said to me, "I have been practicing medicine longer than you've been alive, and I've never seen anything like that." I complimented his bedside manner. Crimony! Way to put a person at ease!

My appointment with the dermatologist is this afternoon. Hopefully, they'll have a better idea of what is going on. I took the Claritin as instructed, but it doesn't seem to be changing. I am hopeful that it is just a weird hormonal thing, but nonetheless, I'd like to hear something a bit more explanitory than "never seen anything like that before..." Cripes!

12:38 p.m. - July 21, 2008

|

previous - next











latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

Journals I Read:

Plain-Jane

(not so) Evil Clomid

Colleen's Musings

Allison

Google Groups
Enter your email address to be notified of new entries:
Email:
Visit this group