-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Natalie Was Right!

The weird leg saga continues. I was working away yesterday afternoon when my phone rang. It was my best gal pal, Dr. M calling to shoot the breeze. After about a week of phone tag, I'd finally given up knowing that I was headed to the OBGYN last Friday. I figured I'd get my marching orders from the OBGYN and then call Dr. M if I needed to seek any treatment or further tests; if no further tests were needed, that would be the end of our friendship. I'd return the other half of our BFF pendant and then call her names behind her back.

Well... Dr. M had been thinking about my case and just wanted to check in to see how things were going. Having never EVER had a doctor voluntarily think about me and call me, I was taken aback. Something had to be up, right?

Dr. M said that she had been doing a bit of research but hadn't really come up with anything. She did have an idea, however. Would I be willing to participate in the Dermatology Grand Rounds at a hospital here in town? For those of you unfamiliar with Grand Rounds, this is where a bunch of doctors gather to observe and discuss the case of a patient. The scenario plays out much like Natalie described in her comments about the episode of Friends where all the doctors looked at Ross's ass. Only this time, they'll be looking at my ass - well, technically my legs, but my ass will be right there, too. Fun, right?

Just so you all have an idea of what they'll be looking at, here is a picture of my weird leg syndrome:

I emailed her the pictures this morning and she said she'll be talking to her peeps to see if they want to include me. I'm not really sure what I'm getting myself into, but I'm sure it will make for a fun journal entry.

Now this is where I forced myself to turn a bit introspective. Despite having that weirdness on my leg and having stumped four medical professionals from one of the finer hospitals in the area, I still am not really worried about my affliction. I'm not exactly sure how the Grand Rounds will work, but I did have to stop and think about the possibility of a gaggle of medical professionals shouting out different deadly diseases while I lay ass up on a cold exam table. Also, I hope they think through how that would work logistically because hello - baby on board! Anyhow, if they kill my ignorant bliss about this situation, my plans to contribute to the learnings of dermatology residents everywhere will have failed. I may have to deny their rights to publish my picture as "Figure 1: 31 year old female; undiagnosed skin disorder."

10:45 a.m. - August 13, 2008

|

previous - next











latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

Journals I Read:

Plain-Jane

(not so) Evil Clomid

Colleen's Musings

Allison

Google Groups
Enter your email address to be notified of new entries:
Email:
Visit this group