-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Still no baby

Okay so I suck. I totally went MIA for awhile for no good reason. I suppose I could blame it on a lot of things, but mostly, I've just been lazy.

The baby is still not here. My official due date is next Sunday, November 23rd. Everything is still going well, though I'm pretty convinced I'll be delivering late. I'm not really all that uncomfortable yet, so I don't mind keeping the young un' in for an extra week if that is what he or she decides to do. The doctor did say she would induce after I'd gone a week overdue. We haven't set a specific induction date yet, and that's just fine with me. I'd really rather go into labor naturally provided there is no adverse effect on my or the baby's health.

Nonetheless, Ryan and I are treating this like it is our last weekend of freedom prior to kids. I asked what he wanted to do, and he suggested touch-up painting throughout the house - not exactly what I was looking for, but at least he was honest.

Since I last updated, we did buy a new car. I think this article best describes the horrendous machine Ryan purchased. He negotiated one hell of a deal on the car over the phone and I reluctantly went with him to the dealership to seal the deal. Of course once at the dealership, the price went up as did my level of frustration. I decided to take things into my own hands.

Dealer: So I think where we ended in our talks about price was here ($2,500 higher than where we actually ended)

Ryan: Actually, we discussed this price.

Dealer: Oh, I don't think I could go that low. I really think this is the bottom line price for this car.

Me: Let me interrupt... do you know that I hate this car?

Dealer: Um, pardon. Umm....

Me: I really don't like this car. The only reason we are sitting here with our checkbook was because Ryan did his homework and got this car to a price I could agree to. As you can see, I am only a few weeks from delivering a baby, and this car is not exactly what I envisioned holding our new car seat. So if you can't meet the price you agreed to on the phone, well...

Dealer: Let me go see what I can do.

20 minutes later, we had our price and then got to wait for two hours while they fiddled around with paperwork. Ryan is thrilled with his new car, and I'm driving an Audi now, so all is good. I did sell my 1998 GMC Jimmy to my dad, and I'll have to admit, I kind of miss it and its funny little quirks. I mean what fun is it to drive around without your airbag light coming on from time to time?

On the baby front, we have narrowed down our list of names, but still haven't decided on our top names. Ironically, a co-worker just named had her daughter last week and named her one of the names we liked a lot. Had it just been the first name, that would have been okay, but it was actually the exact same first and middle name. That ain't going to fly. We are trying to come up with a better middle name so that name can stay in contention. And NO! I'm not going to share the names :) I will say that boy's names are harder for us than girl's names. Ryan and I work pretty well together, so I'm pretty confident that even if I went into labor right now, we'd be able to quickly decide on a name from our lists.

Well that's all I've got for now. I can't promise I'll be good about continuous updates, but I'll try. The comments did make me feel guilty, so thanks for the motivation!

12:17 p.m. - November 14, 2008

|

previous - next











latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

Journals I Read:

Plain-Jane

(not so) Evil Clomid

Colleen's Musings

Allison

Google Groups
Enter your email address to be notified of new entries:
Email:
Visit this group