-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Screaming, eating and pooping

Thank goodness that the holidays are over. While it has been fun having family and friends around to see Nora, I am ready for a bit of monotony - and nothing is more monotonous than Kansas City in January. So far, the weather hasn�t been awful, but I�m convinced that the bleakness is just around the corner. In the meantime, Ryan and I took advantage of the great weather over the past few days and took plenty of walks with Nora. Of course I ruined any healthful benefits of walking around the neighborhood with stops at Starbucks, but oh well. It was still nice to get out.

Nora and I have been hanging at home for the past couple of days. Although I know she isn�t ready for a true schedule, I�m starting to try to bring a bit of routine and consistency into her life. We get up when Ryan gets up for work and from there, we play, sleep, scream, eat and poop. Sometimes, we do all these things at once which I believe is pretty impressive multi-tasking for a one-month old. Nora has a bit of acid reflux which has resulted in screaming while she nurses. This means she nurses for shorter time frames more frequently which means she doesn�t get enough of the nice fatty hind milk. This means she is gassy and has crazy green poop which sometimes interrupts eating. So we stop and play on the changing table for a bit. After a few smiles and visits from her stuffed animals, we go back to nursing where she eats then screams then passes out asleep. So see � all five at once. Impressive, right?

Regarding the reflux and green poo, I�ve been scouring the internet for tips on how to make things better for her. I�ve changed a couple of things since yesterday afternoon, so I�m hoping to see results soon. She has a prescription for Axid to help with the reflux, and it has made things a lot better. I�m hopeful that a couple of small changes will make nursing a lot easier for her. Heartburn is a bitch � believe me � I know from the last couple of months of pregnancy!

I see her starting to stir a bit, so I�ll sign off. In the meantime, more pictures of Nora � now one month old!


4:43 p.m. - January 06, 2009

|

previous - next











latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

Journals I Read:

Plain-Jane

(not so) Evil Clomid

Colleen's Musings

Allison

Google Groups
Enter your email address to be notified of new entries:
Email:
Visit this group